We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$99
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com$99
Priceline$99
BestWestern.com$99
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,011)
Filter reviews
1,011 results
Traveler rating
406
320
156
69
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
406
320
156
69
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mexican restaurant rabobank arena stay there again great place to stay free breakfast road trip one night stay las vegas bw property amtrak pet california freeway
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 1,011 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2019

Great clean.place to stay. We were out of town to adopt our new mlm puppy and this was our 1/2 way point to our destination. Front desk was friendly. Room were large with microwave and refrigerator that kept our drink super cold!! Nice pool with tables and chair to lounge. They have a restaurant and bar. Hot breakfast included. For breakfast its sit down they take your order and made fresh. Not buffet style. The menu is small but gives variety of options. They also, have a kids menu. I would definitely go back to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Sightsee589678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We thank you for your feedback and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2019

Good hotel to stay in... friendly staff.. good service...room was very nice....clean and comfortable.... location of hotel is good and close to restaurant's and other places.... I will definitely be staying here again..

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank DayTrip33875445755
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2019

The staff was courteous and helpful during our visit making our stay during a stressful move, very pleasant.
I want to give a VERY special thanks to GJ...he was wonderful and very helpful when we left an important item behind while rushing out to meet movers in Arizona. He went above and beyond, shipping an important medical device to us that was left in the room! Thanks so much to him and his great staff!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank suzanner818
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2019

Thank you for your kind feedback! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Absolutely awful would be the only way to describe this place. It is dangerous, just dont stay here, do yourself a favour and keep going to the next city.

Homelessness is a problem in America, I know this, but people sleeping on benches outside reception and on the stairs to your room is not what you expect from any hotel.

When we arrived we assumed the place had closed down as it looked abandoned, shame it hadn't, it should be! We went into what we thought was the hotel (it was one of their 3 buildings), and it absolutely stank. Found reception to be greeted by 2 lovely people (the only redeeming feature of this place by the way) who gave us our room. It was an adjoining room which was NOT secure and not safe to stay in. We asked to be moved and were offered the same room with a guarantee the adjoining room would remain vacant, we declined and opted for the move.

Second room was better but despite no smoking rules, hallways stank of cigarettes.

The property is surrounded by fencing with all access gates padlocked, we tried to go to a restaurant and had to jump a fence to get out and back in, surely this is a fire hazard!

Breakfast was nothing short of farcical, literally thrown at you by the rudest old lady you could meet, absolutely NOTHING outside the norm could be accommodated, the sharp tongued old lady shot down any requests, my breakfast was inedible and I left it there, I can't describe how bad it was, rubbery stale old boot leather, vile.

The whole place needs to be bulldozed and redone. The area isn't safe, the rooms aren't secure, the breakfast would be better in San Quentin, in fact, I'd sooner spend a night there than this hellhole, avoid at all costs.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4  Thank Lsc1779
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

We thank you for your feedback as we continue to strive for the very best in customer care. We have taken tangible measures to ensure guest safety around issues that are characteristic of any downtown neighborhood. Downtown Bakersfield, in fact, is heralded as an up and coming, rapidly developing area with a variety of municipal and corporate offices; it is centrally located with a number of local landmarks. We would like to note that the restaurant is operated under separate management and ownership. We pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer care and thank you for sharing your concerns which we will be sure to quickly address. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2019

Loved the room very stylish and great value for money. We had a nice meal in the restaurant. We did a tour around California and loved the Best Western hotels. They are hard to beat for value and location.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank susan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWHillHouse, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2019

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews