We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“road trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed September 25, 2013

nice little hotel. stayed one night part of a road trip
great room nice big bed good area.breakfast included.
had a nice pool but did not use it so if your down that way
not a bad place to stay. there is a nice restaurant over a little bridge
with plenty of mexican drinks

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkeyvanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (824)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 824 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hotel staff was friendly and helpful, but the carpet in the room was in need of shampooing. Never had a floor so dirty. Breakfast was provided, but rather bland and no variety in the 4 days we were there. Location by the canal was great for morning walks. If they clean the carpets, it would be a good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank SteveG4134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel is remarkable for the price. Rooms are huge and modern and above all else, spotless. Did not eat the breakfast but it looked all right. The bed was very comfortable and I will definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

When I travel, I need certain things. A comfortable room is important I also use wireless internet. I like staying at Hill House in Bakersfield. I can walk into town to the north and get dinner easily. They have a restaurant on property that is good too. I am met by the hotel staff when I arrive, in a pleasant manner, and always try to accommodate my needs. I recommend this hotel. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank ArizonaTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Always a very comfortable and pleasant experience with excellent facilities and friendly and capable staff. Owners have a definite sense of responsibility in providing a great home away from home. We have noticed that they continually upgrade their property over the years. As we have been a guest of this hotel for many years and multiple times per year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Cherryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

This was the last leg of our current trip and we were definitely impressed. The hotel is doing a great job with its green practices including shampoo, shower gel, and lotion dispensers in the rooms. We would love to see some in room recycling containers as well. Breakfast was by far the best we have had on the trip. They even had hot oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins. The room once it cooled down from the air being off was quite comfortable and the beds were fine. We will be back next time we stay in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I have been staying at this wonderful hotel for almost 17 years while on business. The attention to customer happiness is far and above most hotels I stay at! I average 3-4 nights on the road week in, week out, and this rates as one of the best I've ever frequented.

Clean and quiet rooms, and they seem to remodel/upgrade far more frequently than any other property I stay at. Mgmt. makes you feel welcome and add a personal touch whenever necessary. Stay here with confidence!

William Hughes

Room Tip: I prefer the building over the cool little bridge that crosses the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
5.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Address: 700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range: $98 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing