We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for me & my cat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place for me & my cat”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Stayed here twice in 5 weeks; definitely will stay again if they still accept pets. Found this place when I learned another hotel in Bakersfield eliminated their pet policy. Hill House is a bit off the main drag, but the staff was wonderful, the room was clean, and I felt safe there. Was not feeling well when I arrived at beginning of my trip and Veronica was huge help to me at that time. Next morning when I was ready to leave, I couldn't find my cat! I knew she was in the room, I just couldn't see her. Sweetu was so nice to come to my room to help. On way back home, I stayed here again (with my cat). Staff remembered me as "Lady with Cat" and asked how we were, etc. Very friendly, helpful. Breakfast area off main lobby offered enough variety to get me nourished for a long drive! Definitely recommend this hidden gem. (I did not eat at their restaurant.)

Room Tip: Ask how to operate AC if you don't already know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    243
    134
    50
    40
See reviews for
185
248
53
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I visited Bakersfield, CA & asked my AAA friend to help me book a hotel. This one had a room with two queen beds for the two nights my friend & I needed to stay. The hotel I had in mind was not available. This one was not exactly right near my ultimate destination. It was worth it. The room was very clean and comfortable. The staff, super helpful with directions. We had a very nice view of something other than the parking lot. Easy access to the pool, wonderful breakfast & great mexican restaurant on-site. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hotel staff was great. Both the front desk and the morning breadfast staff did a good job. Room was of average size with WI FI connection, refrigerator and comfortable bed. Wish the wall unit air conditioner was a build in system as it was noisy. Avoid the Mexican restaurant/bar at the hotel. Average food but poor service. Would stay again in the future but not use the restaurant. rate a 8 out of 10.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank JohnK2923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apple Valley, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I first found this hotel in June when AMTRAK provided me with a free room night. I had no idea it was across the street from AMTRAK. The staff is extremely helpful and nice. I recently stayed here again because my sister arrived by AMTRAK at 10:07 p.m. and there was no way I could drive over the Tehachapi late at night. Since my sister is handicapped, we received a handicapped room. It was perfect. Wish we had more time so we could have used the swimming pool. Maybe next time..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We needed to find a place in a central location to relatives and 2 of us needed to get on the train our last day so this hotel was perfect. We had a nice swim in the pool. The hotel is walking distance to the train station. The breakfast was good, but I would suggest having 2 waffle irons. The one was very busy on Sunday so we did not get an opportunity to make one. The rooms were clean. A good value for the money. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My daughter and I booked a standard king. We told them we would be arriving late. They stuck us in a dirty smoking room with burn holes in the rug and cob webs on the ceiling, claiming I asked for smoking. However, I do not smoke and there was no option to request smoking on the booking site!!
At 1 AM they claimed they had a cancellation and we could have another room. This is not Best Western quality and not as represented.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in room 100
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 881MadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripresponse, Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
We are very sorry to hear that your reservation was made through Expedia and it is specifically requested SMOKING ROOM IN YOUR RESERVATION.

We were sold out and we were holding the room as you had requested. When you checked in about mid night we did not have any non smoking rooms available.

After you checked in we had one cancellation, and we had called you if you like to move to a non smoking rooms.

In future if you use third party web site please confirm the reservation with hotel directly.

G J Zala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our first stay was through a 'sight unseen' offer. We got a 2nd floor unit that we liked so we asked the manager to reserve the same or similar one for us on our return trip. Since it is at the top of the building it has a slanted ceiling which added interest. Everything was clean and in excellent working order; the shower was very good and the bed as well. WiFi was fast and easy to use. There is no elevator but the wide, carpeted steps are easy to manage.

The lobby is well-appointed, roomy and leads into a large breakfast area with numerous choices. The pool looked inviting but we had no time to use it. The parking lot had just been repaved so looked fresh and professional. Staff were friendly and courteous.

This hotel is only a few minutes from some cinemas and Tuesday is the discount night. It is just a short drive to chain restaurants and steak houses. Instead of taking a chance which hotel we might get next time (some are next to Highway 99), this one is in a quiet area, something we prefer.

Room Tip: Compare the price of the 2nd floor rooms to those on 1st floor. They may be more expensive but perha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hongkongsue_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
808 reviews
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.2 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Best Western, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing