We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient & Comfortable”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Really comfortable place to spend a night or two. Beds are first class. Rooms are large and nicely decorated. Bathrooms are quite adequate but a little dated. Centrally located, right across from the convention center and half the price of the big guys across the street. I've stayed at this hotel for many years and I wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere. Great staff and a decent breakfast go in the bargain. A half mile from the highway so it is very quiet.

Room Tip: Try for a room in the east building. It is easier in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    241
    134
    50
    39
See reviews for
179
246
52
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melb
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Fair location but car desirable.

Spacious, comfortable rooms with good facilities (especially in comparison to what we had received in Europe)

Good value for a night's rest on way from A to B.

Staff helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgs99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanford
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed overnight, for a quick rest, before heading down to LA area, and what a nice surprise for just a one night stay in Bakersfield. The room was clean, well decorated, and comfortable. The bed was so nice and comfy after a long day of driving. Excellent location, near everything in Bakersfield, if that is what you are looking for. I flet very safe, as I was traveling alone. Staff was very curteous, and if you need anything, they will try very hard to answer any questions for you. If you need a place to stay in Bakersfield, make this your first choice, you'll love it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a good place to stay after a concert at the Rabobank Arena (within easy walking distance of the hotel). The location is in fantastic vicinity to the venue. It's an easy 5-minute walk across the street to the arena.

Hotel staff was professional and courteous during our entire stay, always greeting us with a smile and making us feel welcome.

The room was in good condition. Bathroom was clean and the shower worked well. We didn't use the mini fridge, but it's always nice to have one for leftovers or drinks. A/C worked well. Bed was clean and comfortable.

Free continental breakfast was a plus. Standard fare (cereal, waffles, muffins, fruit, coffee), and there were some hot options (eggs and sausage). Nothing to really blow you away, but you can't have high expectations with a free hotel breakfast.

All in all, it was a great value considering the proximity to the venue. If we ever have another event at the Rabobank Arena, this Best Western is definitely at the top of our list to consider.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2012

EXCELLENT location! We were able to WALK to the Amtrack Station (it's right across the street!), Downtown Bakersfield and to our concert at Rabobank Arena--and that really made our stay convenient. We didn't pay for parking at all during our time in Bakersfield. Room was very clean and upgraded, decor is nice, beds were very comfy. And the breakfast had all I wanted--WAFFLES (along with eggs, sausage, muffins, cereal, etc). Staff was very pleasant and professional. So glad we stayed here and would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarajuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

A great choice for any stay in Bakersfield. Quick and friendly check in, very clean and large room, great place if you have pets, very safe and easy parking. They also have a very nice pool and it is located next to a beautiful river. We arrived late and the woman at the front desk told us about a Mexican restaurant that was still open in walking distance. Very nice people work here and run a top notch establishment, highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 196rndthewrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed the night at a very clean and well taken care of older hotel in the downtown area of Bakersfield, close to many attractions which I did not partake in anyway. The outside area is clean and well taken care of and the rooms big and very well suited for a business traveler. The bathroom was older but the Tub area had been revamped with Granite and the Shower had good pressure. I may add that the that the commode had also been replaced and the flush was to die for, that is if you are into that type of thing!! The breakfast in the morning was not excellent but free is good enough for me--A few folks had not so good words for the Breakfast but I found them to be the kind that wanted a Marriott but were to cheap to pay the price. The Mexican restaurant that is attached had good food and probably the best thing "Happy Hour" Tues-Thurs. If you need a clean-well taken care of -friendly place to spend the night within walking distance of the heart of Bakersfield stay here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ted b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
803 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.2 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
18.3 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxton Avenue, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing