We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hill House
Ranked #10 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Berlin
1 review
“Clean hotel and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

We only stayed one night but would definitely book again if we came back to Bakersfield.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJF2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    234
    131
    50
    39
See reviews for
173
237
50
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

We did not book ahead. We just showed uo on our way through Bakersfield to San Francisco. Gaytri (at the front desk) was very friendly & helpful. She made sure we were comfortable and had the exact room we wanted. The Hotel is very clean, the beds is comfortable the bedding is clean and fresh. We asked for a non-smoking room and thats what we got. The room is spacious with a King bed,nicely decorated and the bathroom is spotless. The grounds and pool are in excellent shape.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 707travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Vista AZ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed only one night on a trip from our home in AZ to a family gathering in Northern CA. Had heard about this from friends who used to stay here every year for a car show. The room was comfortable, clean and very quiet.

Also, the Mexicali restaurant is located right behind the hotel. This was always a favorite place to dine when we were in Bakersfield. We were able to walk to the restaurant. There is a newer "river walk" that appears to have been constructed right through the middle of the Hill House parking lot, with a bridge to walk and drive over to get to the office and other sections of the hotel.

Would stay here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neeliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great secured motel. They have new disposal,tv remote that are clean. Mexican restraunt across bridge is awful but pretty from outside.ac is loud .

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pheona2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose,CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We only stayed one night at the place. Front stuff seem nice and warm. The beds are fine and sheets are clean, but AC unit is extremely loud. Based on the location, in Bakersfield, one would think the hotel would choose better and more quiet AC unit. We saw a roach in the morning near vanity sink area. Would not return to this one.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripresponse, Manager at Best Western Plus Hill House, responded to this review, August 21, 2011
Thank you for your time to write us, Speed of the fan has been set by PG & E local utility company, they could set up low or high speed only, We will contact them and find some better solution.

We do have monthly Eco Lab service and they are willing to come any time when ever we need them.

Again thank you

G J Zala
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

I was in Bakersfield for a weekend for a wedding and stayed here. The managers were extremely courteous, the rates were great and they went out of their way to make sure the entire wedding party and guests were comfortable. I needed some items I forgot to bring with me from home and not only were they willing to give them to me when I called the front desk, but they even sent someone directly to the room without my having to ask. Talk about good service! Our One King room was spacious and included all your basic amenities. Also, a great Continental deluxe breakfast was ready for us in the morning. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My elderly parents recently stayed at the Best Western Hill House and needed extra time getting out of the room the morning they were leaving. The staff was very helpful and allowed them to stay as long as they needed at no extra cost. Special thanks to G. J. Zala.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelerwreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.7 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
18.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
BEST WESTERN Heritage Inn
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
0.2 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hill House

Property: Best Western Plus Hill House
Address: 700 Truxtun Ave, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4817
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#13 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Hill House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hill House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hill House Hotel Bakersfield
Best Western Hill Hotel
Best Western Bakersfield
Bakersfield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing