We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Alaska
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here last night and was wowed by the suite I was given at a reduced rate. The hotel is beuatiful, clean, well maintained, etc. The room was huge (for one). Quite franjly, it was one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in and I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels. Granted the services were limited, but the hotel and room lovely!!

Room Tip: Get a king suite-you won't be sorry-i asked for and got a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suze1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    82
    21
    14
    10
See reviews for
80
75
26
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Worst Hotel ever! I can't believe that this hotel is allowed to stay in business! I stayed here for business and right from the start I had a horrible reception with the front desk Manager. His name was Kal. I couldn't understand a word he was saying and it looked like he was intoxicated. I told him that I couldn't understand him and he rolled his eye's like it was my fault! that right there made me feel like walking out and finding another hotel, but I was tired and it was almost 1:00 a.m, so I decided to just get my key to my room and end this awkward situation that I was experiencing. I went to my room and was about to take a shower when I saw thick clumps of hair in the tub that had dead cockroaches in it! My bed had little hairs covered on it that looked to be from the pubic region, so I called down to the front desk and the manager said he couldn't do anything about that and I heard him laughing to someone else while he was talking to me. I told him that this was the worst service I have ever had and right when I said that he had hung the phone up on me! I packed up my bag's and left as soon as that happened. As I was walking out I saw him quickly put away a bottle of Jack Daniel's. I told him that I am going to report him for everything that happened and he told me that nothing will happen because his dad own's this hotel and that he can do what he want's( while he was saying all of this he was wobbling all around and couldn't even hand me my receipt without falling over). LAST TIME I EVER STAY HERE!!!!!

Room Tip: From what I have seen your better off sleeping in your car than staying at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear john m,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I’m very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information. I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

No SLEEP! The hotel is adjacent to the very busy highway 99 and an on-ramp. We had a 4th floor room facing the highway. You would think hotel designers would account for this and properly fit the hotel to dampen the noise. But this was not to be the case. The road noise was constant and incredible. The windows don't seal well - and even if they did, it wouldn't have been effective. The hotel is new, looks good, and I expected more. I'd never stay at this place again.

So why did the others review this property so highly? The hotel itself is nice and new. The staff is nice. So I must assume that they had rooms on the opposite side of the hotel from the highway - i.e., facing Buck Owens Blvd. - where there is a hope of quietude.

Room Tip: Ask (Demand) a room facing Buck Owens Blvd - good luck! I'd give you the name of the best hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank DonJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The front desk staff on arrival were very friendly and helpfull. The room was clean, good size, and comfortable for a business trip. Everything appeared to be fairly new at this Holiday Inn Express, unlike others I have stayed at recently. The breakfast was good and the staff friendly. I would definately stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amtkmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
175 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Comfortable, clean and friendly. From the moment we arrived til the moment we left we felt relaxed and at ease. Nice easy drive back to LAX the next morning after our long day at Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeTraveler0123_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've traveled for a living for the last two years, and on a regular basis for the last 30. The General Manager, Cal, at this Holiday Inn Express is the best I've ever seen. He has a talent for making people feel comfortable, and welcome. Customer service is a specialty of his. The hotel itself has been remodeled. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a clean. The shower had an adjustable heater on the controls so you could heat it as hot as you wanted. Unlike other hotels that can run out of hot water during peak times like morning showers, this one had a dial with temperatures listed on it (just a tip, but start low and go up slowly because it works so well that it can get too hot if you don't). I was in Bakersfield in July, so I expected to suffer through one of those wall mounted air conditioners as it struggled to keep up with the heat. Not so! A wall-mount thermostat controlled a machine in a walled off closet that cooled the room within minutes upon my return in the afternoon. It shuts itself off after the desired temperature is reached, and it's not near as loud as those wall-mounted models. It had a decent pool, and an acceptable breakfast. Cal said he is researching the possibility of instituting some sort of happy hour evening routine like you see at Embassy Suites. I encountered numerous business travelers who find themselves in Bakersfield regularly, and have been repeat customers of Cal's for years. After one visit, I can see why. I'll be one too if Bakersfield business calls me back. I was there for three days, and had a great time... in Bakersfield. By the way, be sure to eat at the Buck Owens' restaurant across the street. I was told they had great steaks. I got a try-tip sandwich the was excellent, and big enough to only eat half. The fridge in the room kept the other half cold with my beer from the gas station next door for the next night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maco11ier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got the family suite with 2 rooms, it worked out great, it was clean, and the hot breakfast was very good for being free with the room, it looked to be a newer built hotel, plus it has a well lit parking lot, I had a trailer load of stuff and nothing was stolen!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank southbound35w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#2 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Address: 3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6317 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Legacy Suites Hotel Bakersfield, CA. Offering 90 all suite accommodations featuring 37" plasma TVs, complimentary wired and wireless T1 internet access in all rooms. At the end of a long day relax in our full body massage showers, standard in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, IHG, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Bakersfield Central
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central Hotel Bakersfield
Wyndham Bakersfield
Bakersfield Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing