We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel manager ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Brea, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best hotel manager ever!”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I've traveled for a living for the last two years, and on a regular basis for the last 30. The General Manager, Cal, at this Holiday Inn Express is the best I've ever seen. He has a talent for making people feel comfortable, and welcome. Customer service is a specialty of his. The hotel itself has been remodeled. The bed was comfortable, and the room was a clean. The shower had an adjustable heater on the controls so you could heat it as hot as you wanted. Unlike other hotels that can run out of hot water during peak times like morning showers, this one had a dial with temperatures listed on it (just a tip, but start low and go up slowly because it works so well that it can get too hot if you don't). I was in Bakersfield in July, so I expected to suffer through one of those wall mounted air conditioners as it struggled to keep up with the heat. Not so! A wall-mount thermostat controlled a machine in a walled off closet that cooled the room within minutes upon my return in the afternoon. It shuts itself off after the desired temperature is reached, and it's not near as loud as those wall-mounted models. It had a decent pool, and an acceptable breakfast. Cal said he is researching the possibility of instituting some sort of happy hour evening routine like you see at Embassy Suites. I encountered numerous business travelers who find themselves in Bakersfield regularly, and have been repeat customers of Cal's for years. After one visit, I can see why. I'll be one too if Bakersfield business calls me back. I was there for three days, and had a great time... in Bakersfield. By the way, be sure to eat at the Buck Owens' restaurant across the street. I was told they had great steaks. I got a try-tip sandwich the was excellent, and big enough to only eat half. The fridge in the room kept the other half cold with my beer from the gas station next door for the next night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maco11ier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    90
    25
    14
    10
See reviews for
86
87
30
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We got the family suite with 2 rooms, it worked out great, it was clean, and the hot breakfast was very good for being free with the room, it looked to be a newer built hotel, plus it has a well lit parking lot, I had a trailer load of stuff and nothing was stolen!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank southbound35w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights, and is very satisfied with the hotel. The rooms are above average for my experience, clean and big (mine came with a fridge which was nice for cooling down beverages) and it also have a microwave oven, not that I used it though. Service was kind and expedient. Definitely a place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Helens,United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here on our journey to San Francisco and it' was first class . Rooms were large with 2 king size beds very clean and well maintained
Self service breakfast was ok ticked all the boxs but not the best I have had
Close to a few restaurants good choice for evening meal pool only small but nice couldn't fault it great value for mony

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weirhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was the most beautiful Holiday Inn Express I've ever stayed in, with its winding stairway in the lobby. I reserved a double queen room and, without an extra charge, was upgraded to a lovely suite with the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. The manager was great at helping with directions to touring the area. When in Bakersfield, this is definitely the place to stay! I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slo life
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very modern, clean rooms,very friendly staff,do skip the sausage breakfast.It tasted like "plastic."The breakfast was free,cereal,bagels,bananas,toast,oj,lemonade,apple juice,eggs,sweet rolls.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Have stayed here before and always look forward to sleeping on their mattresses. Have already obtained the information as to where to purchase same mattress when we are ready to replace our own. The pillows and linens are welcoming and pristine. Lay out of the room is very comfortable and efficient. Perfect place to stay when going to Buck Owen's Crystal Palace.......just walk across the street. The breakfast is good and has everything you need to start the day with. They go out of their way to accommodate our request even before we ask most of the time. We go with a group of 6-7 couples and we all are very pleased with our stays and will continue to return 4-6 times per year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Darrell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.5 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central

Property: Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Address: 3001 Buck Owens Blvd, Bakersfield, CA 93308-6317 (Formerly W Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#3 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Legacy Suites Hotel Bakersfield, CA. Offering 90 all suite accommodations featuring 37" plasma TVs, complimentary wired and wireless T1 internet access in all rooms. At the end of a long day relax in our full body massage showers, standard in all guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central Hotel Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Bakersfield Central
Wyndham Bakersfield
Bakersfield Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing