We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!!”
Review of Fox Theater

Fox Theater
Ranked #6 of 39 things to do in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fresno, California
1 review
“Love this place!!”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We saw the nutcracker over christmas and it was so beautiful!! I've never seen a real ballet and this was spectacular. Popcorn, gorg theatre, and a line out the door down the street...seemed to be THE hot spot in town.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

wonderful, older theater. Bill Cosby was great. It is also near Padre Hotel. Great view. clean. I definately recommend a show and stay at the hotel.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachelle19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“ancient but love”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I love the old building wish more events took place there! I like when i see a concert or comedy the stage is not to far away.

Helpful?
Thank LISA A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cosby was awesome”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have seen Cosby and Christopher Titus there the service was at the food stands were good the ticket booth is outside so if its sold out get there early otherwise you'll be stand inline outside for a while others that that the seats are good where ever you sit

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank raychael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernville, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great venue. Ridiculous show management.”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The venue is great. The old Fox. Nice atmosphere etc. A HUGE problem, however, is that the house keeps the snack bar and beer open during shows and as a result there is a constant in and out flow of folks (especially drunk rednecks who were dragged to the show by their wives). This is incredibly disruptive. Seen many top names here, and was absolutely stunned to see folks walk in and out on big names like Tony Bennett even. Bakersfield needs a clue in this area. When top entertainment stops here we owe the artists the courtesy of staying seated during the performances. This shows consideration to others in the audience as well. Cities in the know would never allow all of the in and out traffic. It's a huge problem.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox Theater also viewed

 

Been to Fox Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing