We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Lake Forest, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked a King suite with sleeper sofa for one night on our way up north. For the cost it was not worth. The sofa was in horrible condition, didn't have extra blankets. When asked for, the front staff never came back. Though It was clean and the breakfast was good, felt overpriced for the room size and amenities.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sourav R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    177
    31
    8
    9
See reviews for
157
135
43
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

We were four tired and sweaty people having just driven through the Mojave Desert. This hotel was a wonderful respite. Check in was quick, the room was clean, and the beds were very comfortable. The pool and hot tub were clean and allowed the kids to wear themselves out. Breakfast included a nice selection of eggs, meats, waffles, oatmeal, and cereal. The staff was helpful and friendly. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Overall experience was not as good as I hoped. The staff at the front desk was friendly. We checked in at 5pm, a light was out. No biggie just a bulb, so we overlooked. We called down again as there was only 1 washcloth in the bathroom, for 3 people I don't think so. I called down, she apologized and said housekeeping had left for the day and that they lock up the towels. So a bit fustrating. 10:49pm, the first night, kids above us jumping everywhere, the guy next to us had is tv on blast.. the walls are just thin. they did get the volume turned down, and the tumblers upstairs went to sleep around midnight. Overall, not the best, but not the worst.. we had friends stay at the Sheraton in Bakersfield and thier car got broken into. We probably won't stay here again, as I am allergic to fleas. The staff apologized, and they said they would take care of the room, but I was already bit. It is a pet friendly hotel. From what I understand, this is the better of the two LQ's. The neighborhood is great and safe.. no late drug deals or bad crowd. If you are looking for a good price and are a heavy sleeper and don't mind the chance of fleas being in your room. this hotel is for you. It was clean and updated... the staff was nice. if they hadn't of been we would of left. if you're used to the hampton.. spend the money and go there.. ps the breakfast was just average..

Room Tip: don't get a room by the ice machine, you will hear people all the time going to get ice or vendi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Always know staff is there for YOU. What a great atmosphere. Close to restaurants and Starbucks right out front door! Close to highway interchanges and routes to coast, mountains and desert. We are greeted by name when we check in and out. Breakfast bar is always being cleaned and restocked..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint George, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We lived in Bakersfield for several years and now use it as a stopping point when going to Northern California. My first concern in finding a hotel in Bakersfield is the location, and this La Quinta is in a fine part of town. I felt completely safe and secure, which can't be said for many areas in Bakersfield. It is very convenient to the freeway. There is a Subway and Starbucks next door and a Denny's across the parking lot.

As for the hotel, it is an exceptionally nice La Quinta. The property is very well maintained, the staff is wonderful, the room was very nice and the breakfast was good. We had a very large room with a sofa which was nicely furnished, very clean, and the bed was comfortable.

As with all La Quinta hotels, there is no pet fee and as far as being in the room and hotel, no evidence that pets were there...the hotel is in excellent condition. Since we travel with our dog, if this La Quinta was not available I would travel into Fresno before stopping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 388lovetravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
823 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Address: 8858 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308-9441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#6 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield is a comfortable retreat, ideal for visitors to Sequoia National Park and other popular area attractions. From this convenient location, you can reach Buck Owens Crystal Palace, the Kern County Museum, California Living Museum, Mesa Marin Raceway, Famoso Raceway, and many other points of interest in minutes. There are eleven restaurants within a 5-mile radius of the hotel and shopping opportunities available at nearby Northwest Promenade. Take a refreshing swim in the indoor pool, or relax in the spa, after working out in the convenient on-site fitness center. Enjoy free high-speed Internet access, a coffee maker, hairdryer, and much more in each spacious guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
La Quinta Inn And Suites Bakersfield
La Quinta Bakersfield
Bakersfield La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing