We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not My First Choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn And Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sleep Inn And Suites
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
116 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not My First Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We were tired and took this Sleep Inn before reading reviews. Big mistake as we rely heavily on Trip Advisor. Our carpet was worn and dirty - especially in the entryway. The toilet seat was old and was stained and chipped. (I hope it was all stain and not just dirty). The rest of the bathroom was clean and the room was large with two queen beds which were comfortable.
The elevator permit posted was for 2012 so that makes one feel pretty safe :-).
No, I would not stay there again given other choices.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llynnjones, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to share your comments with other valued travelers. We sincerely apologize you did not enjoy your stay and hope you give us another chance in the future to have you as our guest. In response to the elevator certification, all certifications are up to date and the hotel is in compliance. Again, we do hope you give us another opportunity in the future and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    25
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
21
29
9
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Don't stay, there was no hot water the sheets were so worn that the wouldn't even stay on the bed, not very clean, and in the morning the were drug addicts and homeless people walking all around and even in the hotel, we didn't feel very safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lori J, Public Relations Manager at Sleep Inn And Suites, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear valued guest, we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you encountered while staying at our hotel and hope that you give us an opportunity in the future to serve you again. I have shared your comments with our General Manager and they are addressing the issues. Thank you for taking the time to complete the on line survey and we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one evening recently. Everything was basically average in terms of service. At first glance, the hotel's daily charge seemed to be very good in comparison to other hotels in Bakersfield, CA. The problem is that they charged us for three times for the one night stay. Upon arriving home from our travels, a reconciliation of our credit card charges showed that they even charged an additional day after we had departed. I sent a few emails but they did not even respond to them. I contacted Choice Hotels to lodge a formal complaint and Sleep Inn was given 72 hours to respond to us. We received two pieces of information from them and they did not even acknowledge our names in their correspondence nor did they provide an explanation for the over billing. I filed copies of our credit card statements with Choice Hotels showing the extra charges and its been 10 days without any follow up them either. This is extremely poor service and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Better to spend a few more dollars and receive some professional service from any other hotel in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I've given up on another hotel I normally stay at when I'm working in Bakersfield. Decided to give this place a try. Have stayed here in the past with no problems. The hotel was recently renovated with fresh paint, new flatscreen TVs and clean carpeting. Had a problem with the flatscreen TV and that I could not operate my DVD player. The bed was nice, had a very good nights sleep. Except for last night when I had a little visitor crawling on me in bed. Have not reported this to management yet, but will do that on check out tomorrow morning. I think the place needs a good extermination. Once that's done, it will be a really nice place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Photomitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

3rd time staying there for the NHRA Hot Rod reunion Drags. Rooms are clean and comfortable but probably could do with some new carpet and a bit of updating but apart from that nothing else was an issue. We had a suite and the extra room for our bags etc was good. Will stay again on our next trip for the drags.

Room Tip: Get a suite for the extra room it provides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night in Bakersfield at the Sleep Inn and Suites during our travel from the South San Francisco Bay Area to Las Vegas. The room looked recently painted and decor was decent. The carpet was old and seemed damp. My hopeful assumption was that the carpet was recently cleaned. Since we arrived late at night we decided to just try to enjoy a good night's rest. Beds must have been comfortable enough since we had no complaints.

We found two "cute" (my wife's words) baby cockroaches in the bathroom tub. Is this because we were staying in Bakersfield? I was not happy to found a third baby cockroach in one of our bathroom toiletries bags when arrived at our next destination.

We had a family member in another room and heard no complaints, but I didn't ask.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Masaki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable, well kept, good continnetal breakfast and reasonable price. I wouldn`t expect more of a motel.. actually I wouldn`t need more than good price, good bed, warm shower and safety to spend one night stop. Pretty good. I would definatelly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#50 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#28 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn And Suites

Property: Sleep Inn And Suites
Address: 6257 Knudsen Drive, Bakersfield, CA 93308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Sleep Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing