We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too close to freeway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn And Suites
Ranked #42 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed September 21, 2013

check in was easy, but they didn't have anymore kings left. so we got a queen bed which was too small for us, we wont do that again. you can hear the noise from the freeway and there was a used soap left in the shower. everything else was pretty clean. bathrooms were really big.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 109 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We really enjoy staying at the Sleep Inn at Bakersfield. Rooms are clean and roomy, air was on when we arrived in the evening. Friendly staff, beds are great and the pillows are soft. Breakfast was good and great choices.

Room Tip: Even rooms are by the parking lot, if you want to keep aware of your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raynajoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Sleep Inn Bakersfield was located 15 minutes drive from downtown (about 6 miles). The motel was nice and cozy and had a spa outside. The room was okay in size, with a big bathroom and a bathtub but it was only queen-size beds (a little small when we were used to king-size). It also had a refrigerator, big TV and a microwave. We think that the Motel is perfect for several days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailando81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I initially tried to book for two nights. Lucky for me it only went through for one and I had to make two separate bookings. When I called to try to change it to two nights the girl said she couldn't change it since I booked through a third party even though I booked it through choicehotels.com (their own website). This would be like buying something from Walmart.com and then trying to return it at the store only to be told they can't help me because I bought it from a third party. So I booked the separate stay online and proceeded to the hotel.

The feeling of queasiness began as I passed a lady of the night while approaching the round about that was home to several cradles of filth, including my own. While checking in, I noticed a note on the counter the clerk had wrote about a couple switching rooms because the smell was so bad. As I turned the corner to take the hall to my room, I too was hit with a near vomit inducing smell.

It was better once in my room ... until I opened the bathroom door anyway. I was then overwhelmed with the smell of cleaner in the bathroom that still held dirt and debris around the edges and trash behind the toilets.

The carpet was extremely worn. The mattress while old looking was fairly clean as was the area beneath the headboard. Of some concern was the electrical outlet beneath the headboard which had no faceplate, making a great hiding place for you know what. The nights sleep was fair, and it did have a flat screen tv, a fridge, and microwave. While working out at my van that night, I got the impression that I shouldn't be out there after dark. The next morning while at the van, I was approached by a girl coming from the neighboring hotel asking for money. She was a younger girl who was obviously on the wrong path with drugs but the soft spot in me obliged and gave her a five.

After that I canceled my reservation for that night and headed out of town. No way was I going to eat the breakfast. The price is cheap but you get what you pay for. The hotel is run down and the area is shady. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had arrived in Los Angeles after an overnight flight from Hawaii. We wanted to get out of LA before rush hour so we headed towards Bakersfield. I was exhausted from travel and we arrived here at the Sleep Inn at 9:30 am. The manager (Maria) immediately put her staff to work to prepare a room for us and by 9:45 I was in bed and asleep. That is great service. The rooms were very comfortable and I slept well. The breakfast is not that great, but will at least get you started in the morning. The hotel is located near some fast food restaurants and a buffet style restaurant (Hodel's). All within easy walking distance (if you don't mind the summer heat).

Room Tip: Rooms are very quiet and well cooled in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

A friend and I had to stay overnight here during a long trip from the midwest out to Sacramento. The price of the room was cheaper, but the room itself was great! There was no loud noise from the freeway or anything, the free wifi worked well, and the staff was polite and courteous. The only issue I had with the stay was the free breakfast the next day had what seemed to be stale bread. Other than that, I really enjoyed my stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aaronblazich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This was good for the money we paid. The motel is easy to find. The rooms large-great bathrooms. Front of house staff really busy seemingly doing all kinds of other jobs as well. Not helpful -Greeted by "Yes" when waiting at check in desk... Not nice! I think that they were overworked and understaffed in their defence
Breakfast area a lot better than most motels.and simple but good breakfast on offer.
Just passing by one night -it was a satisfactory stay -welcome aside .I would revisit.MY overall rating is 'Good'

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJfromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield North
#49 of 63 in Bakersfield
122 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#46 of 63 in Bakersfield
653 reviews
3.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#39 of 63 in Bakersfield
120 reviews
9.4 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
#23 of 63 in Bakersfield
17 reviews
3.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#15 of 63 in Bakersfield
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn And Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn And Suites

Address: 6257 Knudsen Dr, Bakersfield, CA 93308-2117
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range: $55 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn And Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn And Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing