We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food!”

Luigi's Restaurant & Delicatessen
Ranked #8 of 826 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian
Restaurant details
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Who would've expect to have a great Italian meal in Bakersfield? Can't go wrong with any meals on their menu. Great interiors, lots of pictures on the wall, very homey. Outside patio seating in the back is lovely too! Servers were always nice & pleasant. Get there early before the lunch crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hilda_Dupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    32
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Lunch in Bakersfield”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Luigi's is an old-school Bakersfield joint that my dad used to frequent back in the '50s. The owners are still the same folks. It is strictly a lunch place, and it is not open on Sundays. Saturdays are mad busy, so get there early. Also, if they have ribs, they will run out if you wait too long!

However, I always get the same thing: Luigi sandwich, served on excellent Pyrenees bakery rolls, with a side of pasta. It's my favorite thing to eat in Bakersfield. Plus, Tonia recognizes me whenever I go there (she knows my parents from high school!) and all the staff make me feel welcome no matter how busy it gets.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank E-Double-Dizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Bakersfield Gem”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Luigi's is one of Bakersfield's treasures. Get there early to get a table, it's always packed. The food is great and the atmosphere festive. It's a favorite with the locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belinda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
217 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Busy Local Italian restaurant”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

1) Get there early - parking is crazy! 2) The restaurant gets crowded quickly! Only open for LUNCH! Typical Italian food -- The special is the 1/2 and 1/2 - half Luigi's beans and 1/2 pasta, comes with choice of roll and very small antipasto. Monica's salad is good too. Daily specials. Very friendly staff and service. Sit at the bar if you don't like crowds. Lovely little store next to restaurant with lots of Italian food and wine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Busy place so they must be doing something right”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I found it difficult to find something on the menu for lunch. The menu layout was not what I would call traditional "American" but seemed more like what I saw in Italy. I settled for the special, an Italian dip sandwich. It was good, nothing special to me. The service was excellent and everyone was very friendly. Parking seems to be an issue.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Restaurant & Delicatessen also viewed

 

Been to Luigi's Restaurant & Delicatessen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing