We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great value in a great area.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Paradise
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value in a great area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have stayed at this motel twice now. The first time, we were placed in one of their newly remodeled rooms and it definitely compared to a 2 ½ to 3 star hotel (only missing the iron and ironing board – I suspect I could have requested one if I really needed it). The beds were incredibly comfortable and I slept well. If they had their own onsite restaurant, they could call themselves a hotel.

The second time I stayed here, I was in one of their yet-to-be remodeled rooms and it was still a decent room worth the price. The bed was a little harder and the air conditioning was a bit louder but it was certainly not an inconvenience.

Lobby/Staff: The lobby was very clean and well maintained. Each and every member of the staff we encountered were genuinely friendly and concerned about our needs.

Rooms: Both rooms I stayed in had 2 queen beds and were quite spacious. Additionally, all rooms must be entered through secured hallways with a room key. There is no direct access from parking lot to room. The rooms are quiet and comfortable.

Internet: This motel offers free internet. The front desk agent will give you the security password to get online.

Parking: There is ample parking though it may be a short walk from the elevator or stairs.

Location: This motel is located off of the California St. Exit of the Hwy 99. Go west I block to Real Rd and go almost 1 block down. Turn into the driveway for the Carl’s Junior parking lot and the lobby will be directly ahead. (You can go down to Chester Ln and turn right but it definitely out of the way). It is far enough off the freeway where you do not hear the freeway traffic but close enough that you can be back on the Hwy 99 within 2 – 3 minutes.

Restaurants in the area: Carl’s Jr., Mc Donalds, Marie Calendar’s, Sizzler and more.

TIP: Try to stop at a Denny’s Restaurant before checking in and pick up one of the discount hotel coupon books in the lobby. Call the motel to see if they have availability to honor that rate. Bring the book in with you for the reduced rate. We got two queen beds for 2 – 4 occupants for $49.95.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for one of their remodeled rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Paula, CA
Level Contributor
194 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Better than motels on Union Ave. and not as spendy as Hotels usually listed-hidden gem.
Furniture was newer, no marring-and bathroom was modern. Lovely pool (chilly in April) and hot tub (lovely with tall rose bushes to view) and available meals close by or have them delivered. Awesome stay. recall the nearby town of Wasco celebrates roses and the Inn also called California Inn) is reflective of this. Whoever does the landscaping should be commended. The check-in staff and check-out staff were as nice as can be.

For this price there are usually individuals living as residents and they were in evidence-but unobtrusive, well mannered and assisting some foreign travelers. World peace in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bugnurse56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

As frequent travelers, I review many hotels and restaurants. I try to provide accurate and balanced reviews of places we visit. My wife and I pass through Bakersfield 2 to 4 times a year and we have stayed here exclusively for the past 6 years. That likely represents close to 20 separate nights. We usually stay at Comfort Inns or similar chains but find this hotel as good as the others with the exception of the breakfast offerings which are very basic.

The rooms are recently upgraded and are very clean. The air conditioners are effective and quiet. The windows open for fresh air. The beds are very comfortable, on par with higher cost hotels. We love the birds singing in the morning. Staff is always friendly and helpful.

We love the location, near the 99 Freeway and there is easy connection to highway 58. There are an assortment or restaurants nearby. I'm surprised to see posts indication this is not a safe area of the city. We have never had any safety issues or concerns here. This hotel delivers very good value. Free WIFI and fridges. There is no iron or ironing board.

Room Tip: We have always stayed in rooms that run parallel to California Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

I stayed at this location for about six months from 2013 to 2014, so you can trust that if I had a complaint, I'd give it here. But I don't... This place is great. Many thanks to Maria for being such a great hotel representative. The staff here works hard to make your stay a pleasurable one. I felt respected and appreciated as a long-term customer, which is becoming all too rare of a thing these days. I would certainly stay here again anytime that I am visiting the Bakersfield area. Tip to the wise: coupons may be available at the Carl's Jr. next door for lower rates, but shhhh--that's a secret! For the price this place is tough to beat, and although I had a great experience with other employees, I have to again give a special tip of my hat to Maria for being so great during my stay. She really helped to make my in and outs seamless, and I really appreciate that. There are few places that charge twice the price that can compete with this spot. Check 'em out!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

This place is a a bit dated. The propriety looks old and so are the rooms. However if your only concern is a place to crash for the night, this place is perfect. The staff is very nice and very accommodating. This place is no frills but very close to restaurants and stores. Plus you cant beat the price. Like I before not a bad place to crash for the night but not a place I would stay more than a night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just a word of caution, this hotel isn't in the greatest area, plus it seems to have a lot of transients staying there. Also fast food restaurants are right up against the small parking lot, so the hotel is kind of squeezed into a small space (although one good thing about it, it's handy if you're hungry ;). They serve a continental breakfast starting quite early, around 6 AM. My room was clean (altho the carpet was dirty), and so was the bathroom. Points off for having a bedspread that had burn holes in it, plus areas of the wall that needed to be repaired. Doesn't take much to slap on some paint. Also the "first" floor of the hotel is actually a parking garage - the hotel's rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor. All in all, I'd give it a 6 out of 10. It's ok for a quick in-and-out type of stay; the rates are good. Would I stay there again? No.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs. I always bring them to hotels - I think that since the open parking garage is under...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rheadabovewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Inn & Suites
#42 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#36 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#27 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 3400 Chester Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing