We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay room,very bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Our room was okay, and clean, but the breakfast was very minimal (Sunny D instead of orange juice!) and quite low quality compared to the other Choice Inns we stayed in our trip (we had six Choice hotel stays on our recent trip so we had lots of direct comparisons). I think they would be better off not offering a continental breakfast and just calling it good). The staff were very nice and helpful and we liked the undercover parking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathbrarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Rodeway Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 117 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

my father and i have stayed here many times over the years on our travels to las vegas and always a nice place to get some sleep, the pool and spa are very nice, the free breakfast in the morning is very good, and itis just a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: all rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Convenient location near freeway, but also Barnes and Noble and Lassen Natural Foods with a wholesome deli. Room was fine, bed super comfortable with a foam type mattress. Hot in the hotel hallway but fine in the room. No complaints. Clean, no bed bugs! What you would expect for the price. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

room very clean, i requested a room away from heavy trafic, liked the in room ammenities. A bit concern about parking light too dim. Liked having fresh coffee at there loby along with toadt and bagel and fruit. Close to freeway. Room temperature great, didn't see any bugs,halls clean.

Room Tip: Request a room away from main doors into halls and ice machines
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafaela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The room price was great, but it was definitely a no-frills stay. Room was reasonably comfortable, clean and not too noisy. We encountered a panhandler in the parking lot in front of the hotel office and had concerns about the safety of our vehicle.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynden-Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I stayed in room 219 2/28 and 3/1/13.
Let me start with the only positive. The woman that took my reservation was very nice and helpful, as was the woman at check in. I think they are the same person.
#1 The website shows an updated property. This is NOT, other than the lobby.
#2 The elevator was old and felt unsafe,
#3 The hallways carpets were disgusting
#4 The pool water was freezing and the "hot tub" just a few degrees above that
#5 Now for the room: the shower was unclean with ashes and dirt in the bottom, I have pictures. Mold around the tub, and walls.
#6 Carpet in the room was sticky, and so badly stained we never took our shoes off. #7 The mini firdge was so broken the ice part was rusted and dangling, making keeping our food and ice safe was impossible.
#8 Hand towels stained and probably not washed before our visit.
#9 The room to the right of our, the last on the floor was occupied by extremely loud children who were running the hallways, screaming and slamming doors from 11pm until 2:30 when I threw a fit, yelling at them and the room several down that they seemed to be travelling with. I called the front desk twice, and received no assistance, security guard seemed more occupied B/Sing with his friends that helpful at all.
#10 Wi-Fi password never worked. We called the front desk many times to make sure we had the info correct, but we were given incorrect password errors. No one to help or fix this, we were just out of luck. Plainly stated, we left at 9pm on 3/1/13 to make a 6 hour drive, rather than stay another night in this TERRIBLE hotel. We really feel like you pulled the bait and switch. DO NOT STAY HERE... FOR ANY REASON!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZombieChick00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The building itself and room is nice. Clean, has all the amenities.
The area can be a little bit shady at night. There were some teenagers who were loud in the evening, but this didn't last long.
Overall a very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrownAnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#13 of 63 in Bakersfield
145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#35 of 63 in Bakersfield
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#27 of 63 in Bakersfield
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Address: 3400 Chester Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $46 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing