We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Short and Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Short and Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stopped off here for two reasons, one was that we were on route to San Jose from Las Vegas the other was that we were heading to a gig in Bakersfield.

With the above said, we didn't spend much time in the room other than a few hours sleep.

The hotel looked clean which is always top of the list, the reception lady was very friendly and had us checked in quickly, there were plenty of parking spaces although it did take us a while to find the entrance (we may blame the long Vegas drive for that though).

The accommodation had an elevator which was very much appreciated considering the amount of shopping we'd managed to do the previous few days.

The room was a good size, there was a fridge and microwave in the room plus a sofa and double bed. The bed was comfy, bathroom was clean.

I'd have no trouble staying here again should I find myself in Bakersfield in the future :)

*The hotel also has a continental breakfast but we left before trying it so can't comment on quality other than that it does exist.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kegan5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    34
    39
    8
    7
See reviews for
31
36
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped here for a night as part of a cross-country trip with a total of 7 college students. Arrived pretty late, receptionist was okay, check-in process was a bit different...

There was a garbage smell outside the hotel and right outside the inner hallways they've got cigarette dumps so of course right outside the door and halfway into the hallway there was a lingering smoke smell, the rooms, however, were fine. Hotel rooms were fine, especially for the price, the only thing lacking was a bigger breakfast but the money saved on the rooms was enough to make up for that.

Not sure if I would stay here again, it's a solid choice if you need something good and cheap but I think next time we'll opt for the next step up.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My Husband and 3 kids stayed here for 1 night. My husband had played in a football game nearby and we didn't want to drive back home soon after so we stayed here for the night. The room was clean and spacious! The kids loved the breakfast options and loaded up on everything. It was very affordable and I was extremely pleased by our experience especially the cleanliness of the hotel and room. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leticia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

This hotel is our stop over spot in Bakersfield twice each year. It has always been very satisfactory. On this visit, it got even better. We usually stay at Comfort Inns while on the road but although the Rodeway Inn is a budget hotel in the Choice Hotels offerings, this particular Rodeway is now on par or exceeds most Comfort Inns with the exception of the breakfast offerings. The hotel is being nicely upgraded and now, the rooms feel modern and fresh. The breakfast choices, while better than the last time we visited are still very basic. We always feel welcome and comfortable coming here. There are a variety of restaurants located close by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cashman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Great room. Clean, spacious, & comfortable. Fridge & microwave. Good bed. Room was very hot when we came in - no air circulating at all. Took a while to cool down. Breakfast okay. No protein. Not a big selection but enough to get us going. Would definitely stay again. Great stopover.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bethanypaigeathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Our party consisted of my husband, daughter, grandson and me. We stayed here on our way to Yosemite NP. It is exactly what you would expect; clean, comfortable rooms with fridge and microwave. Breakfast was passable but I would have liked yogurt and waffles on the menu. Wifi was included and worked fine. I would stay again if passing by as it is good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank and13Tenby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a one night stopover. It's perfect for this. The rooms are reasonably comfortable but nothing luxurious. It's clean and well maintained. The free breakfast in the morning leaves a lot to be desired. It's not great quality of selection.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Quality Inn & Suites
#42 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn And Suites
#36 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
Red Lion Hotel Bakersfield
#27 of 61 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 stars 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn & Suites

Property: Rodeway Inn & Suites
Address: 3400 Chester Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1189
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Rodeway Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing