We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“only ONE staff member actually helped.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Bakersfield

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Days Inn Bakersfield
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    113
    138
    95
    92
See reviews for
157
142
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

I never came across such a bad hotel ever. It already started at the checkin when a police agent was escorted to a room (???). The receptionist let us wait for several minutes before receiving us with a grumpy expression. She showed us our room location, but was so unclear (also the signage) that we searched for minutes and had to ask again. The room itself is clean but the bathroom totally worn out and dirty, only the toilet looks brand new. Furthermore there was no wifi available during out stay and the breakfast (complementary) was very plain and tasted bad. I also didnt liked the room heat even with aircon and the location (looked like a bad neighbourhood). Dont waist your money here!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michiel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California, USA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here a year ago and our room was clean. But tonight... though I specifically requested a non-smoking room and got it- the room smells of motel deodorizer and my eyes are burning from old smoke. Unfortunately, my wife hopped right into the shower so it's too late to switch rooms.
From now on I patronize only non- smoking hotels.
I think what happens is that when people request a smoking room and none is available, they take a non- smoking room. Though they don't smoke in the room, their body and clothes reek and it contaminates the room.
Never again.

Room Tip: Request a sniff test.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheapoyromantico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

This is a nice hotel with very friendly staff the rooms are clean but the beds could be better. The breakfast is nice you get lots of choices but whoever is in charge if setting it up needs a lesson in organization it's not set up very user friendly too much stuff craned in the wrong place. Overall it's a nice place to sleep

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazydad1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
440 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

7-18-14

After a long drive from Reno, NV. It was getting dark and past time to find a Motel. I turned on my GPS and found this DaysInn. It looked very good from the front. After we registered and got our room #226 it did not look so good. The room was big and clean but around the tub faucets there was some BAD patch work. Over near the sink there was more patch work. Windows also needed cleaning. There was an OLD TV that needed to be replaced. Our room had a little porch that you could not sit on as the water drained on it. The room was less than 50 yards from Hwy. 99 with lots of traffic and big trucks running all night.

The area is gated but every time I went out there the gate was open. The hallways were not that Appealing, dirty carpet and patch work walls.

The place has a lot of potential, a little paint and a skilled worker could take care of.

The next morning when taking out my luggage I noticed a man in a van moving from place to place and walking around the cars. I told the girl at the desk. The parking lot is not that well lit. As it is dark in places.

Cap & Virginia

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Menifee, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I stayed here for a month from June 14 to July 14.

This Days Inn seems to offer the best accommodations considering the price. I've stayed at other hotels in Bakersfield, and I keep staying here cause it's priced about the same as Motel 6, but offers nicer rooms.

But that's about it.

* The Wi-Fi was so slow, I had to use my hotspot the entire stay.

* This hotel advertised a fitness room online, but it was closed indefinitely when I got there. They referred us to a In-Shape Fitness center down the street. I went there and negotiated a $60 one-month rate for my wife and I. Then, I went back to Days Inn and asked them to compensate me the $60.00. The manager refused, saying that we are already getting a discounted rate with Days Inn, and they can't compensate any further. So, I wrote to Wyndham Corporate, and told them the whole story, They're sending me a check for $60.00.

* There are tons of kids at this hotel, and they scream. They dirty up the pool. At one point, the pool got so dirty, the hotel had to shut it down until they could sanitize it again.

* There are a lot of bugs in the room due to the landscaping. We also found several caterpillars crawling across the floor, including one that crawled up on our bed. We found a few others that had crawled into our baggage.

* The breakfast is the standard sugary carb (box cereal, donuts, waffles, sweetened juice). No protein.

* The hot water rises and falls too frequently. It literally goes from luke warm to scalding hot. In the shower, I'm constantly readjusting the hot water, and it makes a shower very annoying.

* They overwater the grass in their courtyard, and there's an area where the water remains standing. This produces lots of mosquitoes. We got bit a number of times in the night, and I had to hunt them down and smash them.

* The big kicker. Wyndham wouldn't give me rewards points for my one-month stay, trying to tell me that I used a special rate. HOWEVER, the special rate was offered on their Wyndham Rewards website.

If you plan to say somewhere for an extended period, this is not the place. Pay extra to get more comfort and quiet. If you just want to stay one or two nights, and want to save money, this is still probably your best option.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to front office, with patio facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

When we checked in we asked for a quiet room and were given a large room at the back of the property. Room was large and clean. Balcony however was filthy. Turned out HWY 99 was just yards from our room and the noise kept us awake all night. Even with earplugs. The check in agent must have known this wasn't a quiet room so why assign it to 2 elderly people? The property is not in keeping with the Days Inn properties we have used many times. Not up to the Wyndam standard. Hallways dirty and dark. Lobby nice and clean and free breakfast was okay with waffles, donuts, dry cereals, instant cereals, coffee, juice, tea,and oranges. Courtyard around pool was cleaner than the rest of the place. Quite a few fast food places close by. Property used by several work crews who stay full time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick and Mer... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#19 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#42 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#30 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
Comfort Suites Bakersfield
#15 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Bakersfield - Chester Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bakersfield

Property: Days Inn Bakersfield
Address: 818 Real Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Days Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing