We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Bakersfield
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night as a long drive stopover. So many things made bad impressions about this place. The whole guest room area is surrounded by a tall iron fence making it look like a prison, and also making one wonder about the safety of the surrounding neighborhood and the safety of the possessions left in the cars in the lot.

We were given a room on the ground floor that overlooked the pool. Our room smelled of cat urine (which is strange because I don't think they allow pets here). There are no windows in these pool rooms. The only way to get air was to open the sliding glass doors to the pool area- obviously not a secure solution for overnight. We called the front desk, and they sent us the key to a new room on the second floor, but that was a small trial itself as the hallways there are winding, not well lit and we had a hard time finding the stairway to go upstairs! But I will say that the second room was fine and we slept well there. In sum, we were not impressed with this motel and will not stay there again, since there are plenty of other better options in Bakersfield at similar rates.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Raccoonteur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeraja, General Manager at Days Inn Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Dear Racoonte ,

We thank you for choosing the Days Inn Bakersfield as your choice of accomodation in Bakersfield,CA during your last trip. We would like to inform you that our property has approx 5 acres of land and about 175 rooms. We hope you will understand that we cannot leave such a big property accessible to strangers at all times of the day. The Metal Fences were installed way before we bought the property.It was the choice of the owners/architect at some point in time in the past, over which we had no control. However, they do have locks so that only our customers can have access to the property.Forming a opinion of a Hotel on basis of a metal fence on the side of a bldg and then comparing it to some prison doesnot seem to be a good judgement on the part of a overnight visitor to our property .We are sure that you would have choose to check out immediately if you felt our property was not a safe place to spend the night. We hope you may have noticed that we are surrounded by fast foods,restaurants like Sizzlers and Hotels adjacent to our property,which may have given you a impression of a good neighborhood.Referring to your point of Patio Doors on the Bottom Floor,facing the pool, we are not sure how you would have felt safe if we had windows in place of Patio Doors. Would it have been safer for a guest to leave the windows open on the Bottom floor at Night ? The Management would politely like to disagree with that view point. The Patio Doors have two locks for the safety of our customers. We have seen our guest sit outside in the Patio and enjoy a Glass of Wine or Beer and unwind after a long drive into Bakersfield.We do appreciae your feedback and will continue to work to upgrade the property in future.Do feel free to contact the GM to discuss your concerns when you get the chance

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 745 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

we stayed there for one evening while the room was large the internet services were very poor we notified the front desk serveral times and basically this is a problem they have been having for a while the breakfast was good room was clean and staff friendly the internet is very important and we were not satisfied

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raychael84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeraja, General Manager at Days Inn Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2011

Hello Raychael

Thanks for your feedback. As regards the Internet, we have a T1 line for use of our customers. We have a hard wired connection in ALL rooms and WIFI in the Lobby Area.We apologize for the trouble you had during the stay, we will try to monitor the speed of the Internet in future .

We look forward to serving you in future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

After the nice experience at Holiday Inn at Palm Spring, this one was an absolute contrast. The front desk manager, though friendly, was not intuitive enough to give us side-by-side rooms. The rooms were not comfortable and the carpets were stinking. The amenities were not placed properly. The attached balcony was dirty.

Breakfast was pathetic.

To top this, the hotel slips in a note that they expect guests to give good reviews on various travel portals like TripAdvisor, etc!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ambadkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2011

We walked into a musty, smelly room where the door latch was broken, worn out mattress, wabley toilet seat. You get the picture and I cannot see where some of the good reviews are coming from. This whole place needs a major upgrade.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerd43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The front desk personnel was great. The room smelled of mold, it was next to the pool area. The bathroom was dirty, I cleaned it.. Flying insects in the shower . Insect bites on my arms, legs and face the next morning. Thank God we were only staying the night. Security is needed (24/7)...the locked security gates are left unlocked for anyone to come on the property at any time. It's, not a safe looking area. BEWARE of this one....look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewis201096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

1. Our first room was in the far back, impossible to get to with our luggage, and adjacent to the bowling alley, Mongolian grill, and Hookah Lounge.

2. We were given a different room, but we were a great inconvenience to the desk clerk.

3. The next room was a much better location but it was VERY disconcerting to bring our luggage in past the recently arrested guy in the back of the police car next to the door. Now, I should feel better knowing that the bad guy was IN the police car, but it was VERY disconcerting given that this seemed very common to folks in the hotel.

4. The room was dark and dingy. I felt I needed to take a shower after leaving and was afraid of bedbugs or other crawlies all night long. The mini-fridge didn't work and the toilet stopped up with VERY little toilet paper usage. PLUS the bed was SO uncomfortable I would have ben more comfortable after sleeping in the bucket seats of my car all night!

While this was just a stop-over night on the way to more exciting spots, I'd rather sleep in my car than return here!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivinInParadi5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We were traveling for a business trip and walked into the Days Inn bakersfield as its off the Freeway Exit.The Staff was friendly and helpful, The huge Courtyard with the Pool was visible from the Lobby and got very competitive rates.
The rooms were nice and spacious,with Free Internet ,HBO and ESPN. The property is surrounded by many fast foods and restaurants including Sizzlers.We decided to try the Mongolian BBQ on the Property and tried the Chicken Kebabs and Lamb Chops. Wow, were they delicious.The internet worked fine ( you need cables though in the rooms )
Walked thro the new Lounge on the property but decided not to drink as we had to get up early in the morning.
Anyway, we enjoyed the breakfast in the morning ( free ) with Hot Waffles and hit the freeeway.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emails4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#33 of 63 in Bakersfield
344 reviews
3.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Bakersfield
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bakersfield

Address: 818 Real Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93309-1002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $48 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Bakersfield Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing