We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's with the smell?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here on for a night and I would have liked to write something nice as the staff was helpful and efficient. We came here because of the indoor pool, but the water looked so weird, there was never anybody in it and my children did not want to go for a swim. The worst bit about this place was a strong strange smell I could not quite identify. The staff told me it was air freshner, but then it hit me, it smelled exactly like the product used for head lice...yuk. I started to develop a skin rash here which lasted for three weeks, the smell came from the carpets and the matras. As a family, I would avoid this place, but for a quick stop it is good value.

Room Tip: Check the room for smell first before you pay for a night here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sabinOz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 58 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here two nights recently on business. I pay my own expenses when I travel, so I'm always looking for a combination of low price with good value. The folks at the front desk couldn't have been nicer. They were quick to check me in and very friendly. But the room I had was in dire need of a thorough cleaning.

I usually run around in my socks when I'm in my room. When I went to bed, I found my socks were nearly black. The room showed real signs of wear. There were unfinished drywall patches in a couple of places. There was a permanent stain in the tub. The water pressure was dismal in the sink due to some low flow head.

If I'm back in Bakersfield on business in the future, I think I may stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Shop prices nearby and look at other reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aopchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The only reason we went to this place was because of the pool and the hot tub. We were really looking forward to relaxing in the hot tub, but when we got there it was ice cold. There was a sign on the door that they only heated after 6 in the evening. OK, they were aware that we intended to use it, so when we got back from dinner around 6:30, it was still cold. They had just turned the heater on. Obviously it took a couple hours to heat. This apparently is the way they do it everyday. ABSURD!!!! Also they quoted me a price on the phone and when I got there it was significantly more.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We didn't want to spend too much on our one-night visit to Bakersfield, so we decided to stay here after reading Tripadvisor reviews. We were pleased with our choice. It is nothing fancy, but clean, with friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erik-Elsje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The beds were comfortable and the room was roomy and clean. There was a table and chairs in the room as well. Nothing fancy. Its all we needed for a nights sleep while traveling. Front desk was friendly and helpful. The room had a fridge and a microwave, and a tv, none of which we needed. The indoor pool was warm and a nice soothing treat after a day of driving. The only negative was that the sink was outside the bathroom, so when one of us used the bathroom during the night, it could disturb the other. All in all it was very nice for the price.

Room Tip: All the rooms have indoor access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ellen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Room was cheap, smelled like BO. Front desk was polite. Microwave worked, bed was hard.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMJBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

If you are looking for a cheap place with nice rooms this place.I have stayed at a different hotel every night for the last 2 weeks and for the price it is excellent.Geoff Bensley Byron Bay Australia

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilasvegas, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2011

We value all remarks, and appreciate you taking the time to share them with other travelers. We look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.1 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
WoodSpring Suites Bakersfield
#23 of 63 in Bakersfield
17 reviews
7.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#17 of 63 in Bakersfield
155 reviews
7.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Bakersfield
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
7.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield

Address: 8230 East Brundage Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93307-8400 (Formerly Liberty Inn)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $60 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing