We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's better than sleeping in your car!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed there on a business trip, and this is one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at! The rooms are dirty, maid service us very sporadic and what they call the 'free continental breakfast' is way from continental.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 372 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank TravellinCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Never again!! They failed to inform me that 9 Harley Davidson Biker Clubs had the hotel booked for the weekend. They placed me in a room that was right in the middle of the groups. At one point after the women finished fighting (1:30 am) we were surrounded by police. When I asked to be moved so We could get some sleep, they conveniently had No other rooms available. Then at 4 am the guys started up. The room was dirty, the curtains looked like they had been in the parking lot with the bikes. The room had peeling wallpaper, even bare spots. I was afraid to even look closely at the carpet. This was the worst hotel visit ever and never again will I choose Howard Johnsons for anything. I was offered a discount on my next visit..How Nice..guess what there will never be a next visit so you can "keep' your offer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Melanie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

We regret that you were not satisfied with your stay. We understand your frustration with the noisy group adjacent to your room and that is why we offered you a discount on your next visit as it seemed that the only concern you had at check out was the noise. We would not have put you there but, that weekend we were fully booked and did not have another room to give you. If you do give us another chance, please contact me so that I can work something out for you. We do want to take care of each one of our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

1st off. We arrived to a room that smelled quite rank, then we figured "ok it an old building" we then went to bed. Upon weakening we found black stained sheets, my wife wears no black makeup, and no we didn't notice it prior. I tried to turn on the TV, it had no channels so I looked behind it and found the cable was disconnected. But as well I found a condom behind the tv as well.
To sum it up, there is no way on earth we will ever step foot in one of your hotels again.
George Davies

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Mr. Davies, we apologize for your less than satisfactory experience. The details of your comments are not satisfactory to us either. I will personally review this with my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Debi N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
3.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#38 of 63 in Bakersfield
120 reviews
1.6 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#31 of 63 in Bakersfield
309 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Bakersfield
Travelodge Bakersfield
#33 of 63 in Bakersfield
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#16 of 63 in Bakersfield
155 reviews
1.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Bakersfield Fairgrounds
17 mi away
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
Vagabond Inn Buttonwillow I-5
#43 of 63 in Bakersfield
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Address: 2700 White Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93304-6816
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $38 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Howard Johnson Bakersfield
Bakersfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing