We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Adequate, but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate, but.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Traveling with 3 adults, 3 children and a dog. We were given 2 rooms, right next to each other. We were immediately greeted by housekeeping and maintenance came into the room to make sure the doors between our rooms opened. The front desk staff was friendly. When I first walked Into the room, the air was a bit musty, but after running the air conditioner, it cleared right up. The beds were adequately comfortable and I slept well. There wasn't a huge selection to choose from for the continental breakfast, but enough to get us on the road. The shower was nice and hot, despite the length.

The nice thing about this hotel is it is right off the freeway and there were several places to eat and fuel our vehicle.

Now.... For the sort of bad.... I was a little concerned with the isolated feel of our room. It was far back from the main office. When we got there, our kids immediately wanted in the pool. After 5 minutes of playing, I ushered them back to our room, because I noticed an undercover cop pulling his gun and holding it on a man right behind where my kids were playing and another cop car speeding up. My kids were a little unsettled and asked that we please do to return there on the trip home.

(After this happened, the front desk did call to make sure we were okay. They were very friendly. I do not have any customer service complaints)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to accommodate you, your three children, AND a dog. There was an incident concerning another guest that afternoon. But, rest assured that the problem was quickly resolved. Thank you for mentioning that our front desk office called to make sure that everything was OK. Our staff really do care about making our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    69
    90
    53
    59
See reviews for
112
61
36
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LAKEWOOD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've stayed at Howard Johnson twice...my experience was great and Teresa was fantastic!!! All of the staff was friendly, accommodating, etc...The rooms were clean, comfortable and it's a great location. My only tiny complaint is, that my room key malfunctioned everytime that I left the room...so I had to make numerous trips to the front desk to have my key reprogrammed...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
2 Thank KAREN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy to learn that Teresa was part of your positive experience during your stay here. We continually strive to deliver excellent customer service. We do regret, however, your repeated trip to the front office due to your key card. We will look into that
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We checked in around 11:30pm and immediately went to bed. Around 2:00AM, the front desk called our room! They woke us up and got our two year old riled up thinking it was time to get up.

They called because the credit card I gave them when we checked in wasn't the same as the one I had used when I booked the room online. Apparently, the charge that went through during check-in wasn't sufficient for them to wait until morning to straighten things out.

We will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We appreciate your business and your general positive ratings, with the exception in the category of Service. If you made payments directly to us at the hotel, then we should have collected the full amount at check in. If you made payments through a third party online website, then we will need to visit our payment policies with them. Either way, we regret disturbing your rest. We hope you will book with us again so that we can show you that we do take care of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Room was clean and ample parking but the motel is depressing looking. Needs an update badly. Bed was poor quality and linens were cheap. Passed on the carb breakfast. Door to room was loose fitting and allowed light in.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are continually in the process of upgrading beds and linens. So far, the upgrades have been very positive from other guest experiences. If you would give us another opportunity by contacting me directly, I will make sure that your room has the upgraded bedding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

I will admit, I was worried that I made a mistake when I made my reservations for this stay, based on recent reviews, but the front desk staff were very nice, the room was clean, and the location was perfect for my stay. Thank you so much for making my stay a positive one!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I came to this location not knowing what to expect..and my oh my was this a good friendly enviroment..was well greeted by front desk employee.answered all my questions called. My room to check. On us as well..most diff we will be back..thanks claudia for making this one a good stay

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinitywork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojobakersfield, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.7 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
Vagabond Inn Bakersfield South
#35 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
3.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#33 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#13 of 62 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rosedale
Hotel Rosedale
#26 of 62 in Bakersfield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
Address: 2700 White Lane, Bakersfield, CA 93304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 62 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield 2*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - Bakersfield Hotel Bakersfield
Howard Johnson Bakersfield
Bakersfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing