We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food - good price”
Review of Flame & Skewers

Flame & Skewers
Ranked #46 of 833 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Restaurant details
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good food - good price”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The food is good; the portions are big and the price is right. I would have liked to have beer or wine with my meal, but they do not serve alcoholic drinks

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    17
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“yuck”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

tough meat on a stick. No flavor. Terrible texture. Thats the best I can say. Left hungry. Not a re do for me.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveling_gal801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The name suggests one thing but reality is something else. Not my cup of tea; disappointing and self-service to boot

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank RichardAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Average Mediterranean fare, at best”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I am a big fan of Mediterranean food, but their flavors are just off. I would say underseasoned, sub prime ingredients are a little too greasy. Not a lot of great Med food in Bakersfield, so I still go back.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield Ca
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great sandwich, great hot sauce!”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I love the chicken shwarma sandwich! And the hot sauce is fantastic! I offered to buy some of the sauce but the nice young waitress gave me a large cupful to take home. And the French Fries are the best in this town! They beat out any other chain's fries by a mile. The service is fast, the place is clean, and the wait staff is very friendly and helpful. We visit this these restaurants (two in Bakersfield) at least three times a month. I have not been disappointed once in the last few years we have eaten in these restaurants. If you like something different and with a really great spicy sauce, try a Shwarma sandwich.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flame & Skewers also viewed

 

Been to Flame & Skewers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing