We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing great”

Great Castle Restaurant
Ranked #343 of 820 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Local Chinese restaurant for over 30 years on Union Avenue, Bakersfield. Great food and better Mai Tai's!!!
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Average tasting food. Depressing atmosphere with old decor. The place could of been cleaner. Cost not worth the dishes.

Helpful?
Thank KoriP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Try the Walnut Shrimp”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Found this restaurant through a local magazine two years ago. Now my wife and i eat there every trip to town 50 miles. The atmosphere inside and out are deceiving the place could use a facelift. It is all about the food and the family who cook and serve the food. Have tried many different dishes but keep coming back to the Walnut Shrimp. Two people couldn't finish the dish and it is only $13.95.

Have spent half my life in either Chinatowns San Francisco, New York, and Los Angeles. Still this restaurant rates equal to many of those. Best Asian food for 100 miles. Enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

If you haven't been to Great Castle, you are missing out. We love Chinese food. Just about everything we've ordered is fantastic!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank earlsherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
169 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had heard much good about the food at Great Castle and was wanting a good Chinese meal. I was so disappointed in my dish, the Walnut Chicken and will have to go back to be sure it just wasn't a bad day. This place gets rave reviews so to be fair, I will return and submit another review.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank bakersfieldmom78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Chinese !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great Castle is the Best Chinese food in Bakersfield, hands down .(just a poor location) If this restaurant was picked up and put in a nice part of town it would beat any place in town , for the food and environment. I love how quaint and nice the staff and help are . Ok The food ! You can't get any better Sizzzzzzzzling rice soup - GREAT STUFF! also the Moshi Pork, sooooo good with the plumb sauce, and always the wanlut shrimp ok, there isn't anything I have ever had there that isn't just great and lots of it . My family and I have been going here forever and we have never been dissapointed and always leave with enough food for everyone to have a little snack when the are home from school...... Love This Place and The People who work there ........

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Castle Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Great Castle Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing