We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Ranked #6 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Corona, United States
2 reviews
“Consistent”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hampton Inn is always very consistent as hotels go, but usually the most you get for your money. Best amenities for hotels at the same level. Usually in good locations. Their breakfasts are about the same as comparable hotels. Exteriors are usually consistently pleasant looking.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    158
    62
    16
    16
See reviews for
168
162
42
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smith River, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were attending a 90th birthday party and unsure of the proximity of this hotel to the venue. Turns out the Hampton Inn on Oak would've been closer but as we were only staying one night we didn't ask to switch properties. There was someone smoking in the lobby when we entered which surprised us as we thought it was a smoke free establishment. The check in was smooth, the room was fine and fairly quiet once other guests came and went. Our only issue was that the pillows were very soft. Feather pillows I think and even doubling them didn't make them firmer. We had a fairly rough nights sleep due to this issue. I rated the location as 'Poor' simply because it wasn't the best for our trip. For others, it might be just right. Consult a good map!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Roger D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is standard for a Hampton Inn. It's on Hwy 58 about 5 miles east of Hwy 99 on the way to Vegas. So if you are coming from Northern California on your way to Vegas and need a layover hotel, this is it. It's isolated, clean and at an affordable rate. 


Beware of check in though, It is a destination hotel for all the corporation workers from out of town. It looks like they have a roster behind the front desk and they just sign it upon checking in. The line has been long all 5 times I've stayed there and took forever to check in. 


If they know there is a grip of out of town workers checking in between 3pm and6pm, they need to pay more attention to the front desk. There was only one person then finally after 20 minutes of waiting another came out. This happened both times I stayed here. 


The only reason I stay here is because its only 10,000 HHonors points per night for a free room. The one by the airport is 20,000 points. The one on Oak Street is also 10,000 points but it is in a seedier part of town. Even if I wasn't getting a free room I would go out of my way to stay here because of the cleanliness, price and the isolation. 


There is a Denny's and Starbucks behind the hotel and a McDonald's across the street. I didn't eat breakfast here but it's your standard make your own waffles, cold cereal, scrambled eggs and bacon / sausage, toast, fresh fruit, coffee, juice etc. The breakfast is included with your room rate.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mestisoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed here after being stuck on the Grapevine for 5 hours on the way home from Disneyland. Used hilton honors points for a free room. The hotel may be convenient if going to Vegas. About 6 miles off Highway 99.

The property is very nice and the hotel has a nice decor. The room was great. Beds were comfortable. Place was very clean.

However, spa didn't work which bothered us because we would have picked another Hampton closer to Highway 99 except for they advertised their spa.

Night staff was very friendly and helpful. Morning staff was the exact opposite. They were rude. The breakfast was poorly managed. They ran out of everything and did nothing to keep it stocked. The sad part was it wasn't even busy. They simply didn't care.

Also, at one point during the day my kids were waiting for the elevator. It opened and nobody came out at first so they started to head in. An employee then came around the corner from inside the elevator running over my kids. My kids said sorry they thought it was empty. The employee was on her phone and ignored them but said to whomever she was talking to "I am on my last nerve with this job." This was both unprofessional and rude. Leaves a bad taste.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgpappa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I would strongly recommend this Hampton that is very close to the snow closure exit when heading east on Highway 58. The location is nearby, and it is at an exit with many dining options in clear view. They were low on rooms and I was able to get the suite at a more reasonable corporate rate with a code and that was very helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable, warm and a great place for a rest. The lobby was very inviting and breakfast that was included in the rate had everything I wanted. Across the parking lot walking distance away is Denny's coffee shop or McDonalds for an easy meal. The employees at the front desk and in the breakfast area were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winston salem
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to San Francisco. Property was new and staff was excellent. Fast food and gas/convenience store located nearby. Room was comfortable and clean. Price was a bit high for the location but we stopped after dinner and did not have a reservation. We would return again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
197 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a standard Hampton Inn, by which I mean it is a member of probably the most comfortable and stylish chain in its sector (certainly since Marriott Courtyard became so expensive). It's in a semi-rural roadside location at a freeway junction a few miles east of Bakersfield, and at the junction there are also petrol stations and places to eat. Denny's is next door to the hotel and open 24 hours.

There is a lot of traffic noise so visitors should try to get a room at the far end of the hotel: we did and the noise was not obtrusive in the room, though the car park is a very noisy place. It was very satisfactory for an overnight stay on a touring holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
6.2 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Address: 7941 E Brundage Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93307-3053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#8 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is a upgraded property with outstanding service and superior accomodations. The moment you walk into the friendly open lobby of this property, you sense the unique ambiance and quality. With 64 traditional rooms and 30 spacious suites, the inn provides high-end amenities, complete with friendly staff. Our famous Cloud Nine bedding provides ultimate in comfort for a restful sleep. We are minutes from downtown and great shopping opportunities. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield prides itself on the many dining options within walking distance, including Denny's directly adjacent to the property. All suites feature a wet bar with a microwave, and refrigerator. Our Suites are enticing to families traveling or other business travelers seeking high quality. An in-room desk and complimentary high-speed Internet access are standard. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield serves a "Hot on the House" complimentary breakfast from 6 to 10 AM daily and provides on the go breakfast bags during the week. A large meeting room with space for up to 65 suitable for corporate retreats or small meetings. Of special interest are the large outdoor heated pool and spa providing a welcome break from your long day. We also feature a fitness room, a 24-hour Business Center, a 24-hour suite shop. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is directly off the freeway providing excellent location to downtown or other exciting stopping points in Bakersfield. We look forward to seeing you at the all new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing