We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable place to sleep when Tehachapi pass closed for snow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Atwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable place to sleep when Tehachapi pass closed for snow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I would strongly recommend this Hampton that is very close to the snow closure exit when heading east on Highway 58. The location is nearby, and it is at an exit with many dining options in clear view. They were low on rooms and I was able to get the suite at a more reasonable corporate rate with a code and that was very helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable, warm and a great place for a rest. The lobby was very inviting and breakfast that was included in the rate had everything I wanted. Across the parking lot walking distance away is Denny's coffee shop or McDonalds for an easy meal. The employees at the front desk and in the breakfast area were very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    118
    48
    14
    15
See reviews for
121
115
31
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
winston salem
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way to San Francisco. Property was new and staff was excellent. Fast food and gas/convenience store located nearby. Room was comfortable and clean. Price was a bit high for the location but we stopped after dinner and did not have a reservation. We would return again.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank davidWinstonSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, UK
Level Contributor
216 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a standard Hampton Inn, by which I mean it is a member of probably the most comfortable and stylish chain in its sector (certainly since Marriott Courtyard became so expensive). It's in a semi-rural roadside location at a freeway junction a few miles east of Bakersfield, and at the junction there are also petrol stations and places to eat. Denny's is next door to the hotel and open 24 hours.

There is a lot of traffic noise so visitors should try to get a room at the far end of the hotel: we did and the noise was not obtrusive in the room, though the car park is a very noisy place. It was very satisfactory for an overnight stay on a touring holiday.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPeripatetic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Okay, next time it would be a good idea to look at a map. After driving forever south on I-5 on a trek to Southern California, we chose this hotel in Bakersfield for an overnight stay. This Hampton is at least 20 miles from I-5 so in that sense it was not that convenient. However, the hotel itself is excellent. The room was clean, modern, and quiet with two comfortable queen size beds. The area for breakfast in the morning was among the nicest I have seen in a Hampton - clean, spacious, well maintained with an attentive staff member. My only reservation about the hotel is that it is in what appears to be an industrial area with no nearby restaurants. Other than that, this is a good place. An added bonus was that relatively few HiltonHonors points were required for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Decent but not fancy. Comfortable bed. Pool is not heated. Friendly staff. Clean. Some small problems: takes a little long for hot water to get to shower, business room is too hot. Breakfast is fine. Parking is fine. Close to highway, but far enough that you won't hear the highway noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We valued the excellent facility and fine staff who were prompt and thoughtful. The room was very quiet, the beds were great as always, and the breakfast was definitely an added value for us. Since the Highway 58 Hampton in Bakersfield is close to Hillcrest Mortuary and we were in town for a funeral, this was an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Over all our room was good value but the front desk staff was limited and not particularly well trained. We had no idea how close it was to the railway tracks which is a negative if a light sleeper. The other issue we had was with children running in the hall well after midnight and even wondered if they were the children of an employee? The room was clean, well appointed and large, however, given the noise factor we will likely find another place in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank putterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
6.2 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#3 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Address: 7941 E Brundage Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93307-3053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#8 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is a upgraded property with outstanding service and superior accomodations. The moment you walk into the friendly open lobby of this property, you sense the unique ambiance and quality. With 64 traditional rooms and 30 spacious suites, the inn provides high-end amenities, complete with friendly staff. Our famous Cloud Nine bedding provides ultimate in comfort for a restful sleep. We are minutes from downtown and great shopping opportunities. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield prides itself on the many dining options within walking distance, including Denny's directly adjacent to the property. All suites feature a wet bar with a microwave, and refrigerator. Our Suites are enticing to families traveling or other business travelers seeking high quality. An in-room desk and complimentary high-speed Internet access are standard. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield serves a "Hot on the House" complimentary breakfast from 6 to 10 AM daily and provides on the go breakfast bags during the week. A large meeting room with space for up to 65 suitable for corporate retreats or small meetings. Of special interest are the large outdoor heated pool and spa providing a welcome break from your long day. We also feature a fitness room, a 24-hour Business Center, a 24-hour suite shop. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is directly off the freeway providing excellent location to downtown or other exciting stopping points in Bakersfield. We look forward to seeing you at the all new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing