We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyting great but the noise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Everyting great but the noise”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

I'll just get right to it - this hotel has a noise issue, and I'm not a noise whiner. First, the train. It passes near the hotel and there is apparently a need for the horn to blast right as it passes by - any time of day. Not the hotel's fault but the location must have been researched by someone...

Next, and more noticeable and frequent, are random loud thuds everywhere, from all sides, including from above. You have no idea who's doing it, in order to complain...for all i know, people could be just walking. That's how "acoustic" this place is.

And if you get a good night's sleep, you may enjoy listening to a vacuum cleaner in the dining room during breakfast.

But the front desk people are friendly - very much so. I like that the hotel is slightly out of town. It looks like it was built in a place that's kind of up and coming, and things are being built around it. There are several fast food places to eat, a Starbucks but not much else.

I may stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank les_paul_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Les_paul_em,

I first would like to apologize for the noise that you experienced at our Hotel; I do understand how that can disturb a good night’s rest. For our light sleepers we try to locate them at the right location within the hotel to avoid be disturbed by any noise. Now that we have heard from you, I can ensure you; we will take corrective action and prevent situations of this nature to be avoided for our next guests. Thank you sincerely for your feedback

We welcome you back; it’s our pleasure to assist you with any future reservations you may have. Thank you for staying with Hampton. “We Love having you here.” Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    161
    64
    16
    16
See reviews for
177
166
43
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau County, FL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very nice hotel, wonderfully comfortable beds and of course it was very clean. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The breakfast was fine too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

New and Welcoming hotel near the interstate in Bakersfield, perfect for a one or two night stopover.
PROs
- New facilities
- Business Centre free of charge
- Free high speed wifi that works reliably
- Excellent continental breakfast with plenty of seating
- Coffee 24x7 in lobby
- Good Laundry
- Friendly staff
- new TVs
- Fridge and Microwave both work and fridge is quiet
- family restaurants within yards of the hotel
- plenty of free parking
- excellent value

CONs
- some freeway noise if the wind is blowing unfavourably
- not in town, nowhere to walk to other than the nearby family restaurants

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDuperCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Squishycupcake,

Hampton Inn & Suites wants to thank you for your time for giving us feedback about your stay with us. We are excited that we have delivered great customer service and enjoyed your stay with our Hampton Inn & Suites. We welcome you back; it’s our pleasure to assist you with any future reservations you may have. Thank you for staying with Hampton. “We Love having you here.” Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed at this Hampton Inn for an overnight on our way from Phoenix to Sacramento. It's very conveniently located off of Hwy 58. We'd requested a quiet room, and the front desk clerk told me when we checked in that she'd placed us in the middle of the building, as far as we could be from either highway or train. I appreciated knowing that those requests one enters online (and which you're always reminded aren't guaranteed to be fulfilled!) had, in fact, been seen & attended to by someone. This reception employee, who we saw again the next morning, was really friendly & nice.

The room was spacious enough, with a quite large bathroom. We weren't particularly aware of either highway or train noise during the night. I was, however, awakened every time the rather loud heater would go on, even though I was wearing earplugs. And then when morning came, I was awakened by our neighbors -- one man speaking in a normal voice & a crying, though not shrieking, baby somewhere nearby. The walls are apparently quite thin.

Breakfast is served in a very spacious, attractive space on the ground floor. A TV set was on at one end (showing "Law & Order" -- a little violent death with your breakfast?), but it was easily ignorable. Food was the usual fare: yogurt, bagels, make-it-yourself waffles, fruit salad, etc. My family and I ate well.

Since we were spending New Year's Eve in a city we didn't know at all, I'd done a little research beforehand and made dinner reservations at Uricchio's, an Italian restaurant downtown. It was a 15-minute drive away, and proved a festive and family-friendly place for a New Year's Eve dinner. Service was friendly and attentive, the food not super-memorable but quite tasty, and the portions generous enough to provide us lunch on the road the next day. (Our waitress labeled each box so we knew whose food was whose). I'd go there again if I ever find myself again in Bakersfield.

As for the hotel, I won't say I'd *never* stay there again, but I'd probably look around to see if there were a quieter place before making a repeat reservation.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WritingRetreater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Writingretreater,

I first off would like to thank you for your feedback on our Hampton Inn & Suites, We truly value feedback from our guests because it allows us the opportunity to grow and ensure we deliver Quality service to all of our guests.

Now that we have heard from you, I can ensure you; we will take corrective action and prevent situations of this nature to be avoided for our next guests. Thank you sincerely for your feedback. Hampton Inn & Suites appreciates you for choosing us for your stay and welcomes you back to see our improvements. It is our goal to deliver outstanding service and quality for our hotel.Overall I am glad that you enojyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Quiet, off the beaten path. Great for an overnight stop. Two years old, cherry staff, everything clean and like new. Good hot breakfast. Only fast food and a Denny's for dining. No info from staff on options, i.e., closest Marie Callendars, Applebee's, etc. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, middle, was quiet. No freeway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Bear075,

I would like to thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at our Hampton Inn & Suites. Its our pleasure to be of service to your and I am glad to hear you enjoyed our staff as well.

We welcome you back; it’s our pleasure to assist you with any future reservations you may have. Thank you for staying with Hampton. “We Love having you here.” Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We liked this hotel so much that we stayed here on our way home on our return trip. Hotel has a huge breakfast area, lots of choices, staff is friendly and very helpful. They even had To Go Breakfast Bags which they encouraged us to take even though we had eaten breakfast (so we did!). Hotel is new, rooms are large, very nice. Sure there is mostly fast food places around here but there is a Denny's (food was good) and Scotman's. Yes you can hear the trains passing by (depending on which room) and yes you can hear the traffic of the highway (depending on which room) but neither kept us awake as we slept comfortably in the beds. Very nice hotel. We will definitely stay there again if we pass by that way!

Room Tip: if trains or traffic bother you, get a room on the side away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Sales Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear Karla75

Hampton Inn & Suites wants to thank you for your time for giving us feedback about your stay with us. We are excited that we have delivered great customer service and enjoyed your stay with our Hampton Inn & Suites.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your amenities and the quality of our hotel.
We welcome you back; it’s our pleasure to assist you with any future reservations you may have. Thank you for staying with Hampton. “We Love having you here.” Thank you for your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. Two elevators make for virtually no waiting to get to upper floors. The hot breakfast was excellent. The location is great for travelers since it's on the highway (seemed to be a truck stop location) but the only close restaurant is a Denny's next door; otherwise you're in for a drive and who wants to do that after driving all day?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingwestI10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antonio661, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Dear TravelingwestI10,

It’s always a pleasure to have you stay with us. Hampton inn & Suites appreciates you for your selection in our Venue. It’s our pleasure to have delivered the warmth spirit of hospitality to you and we love having you as a guest. If there is anything that we can do to assist you in your next reservation or stay with Hilton Properties, please connect to us. It’s always a pleasure to be of service to you. Take care and we look forward to your next return of stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
7.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
10.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
6.2 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
Address: 7941 E Brundage Ln, Bakersfield, CA 93307-3053
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#8 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#8 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brand new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is a upgraded property with outstanding service and superior accomodations. The moment you walk into the friendly open lobby of this property, you sense the unique ambiance and quality. With 64 traditional rooms and 30 spacious suites, the inn provides high-end amenities, complete with friendly staff. Our famous Cloud Nine bedding provides ultimate in comfort for a restful sleep. We are minutes from downtown and great shopping opportunities. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield prides itself on the many dining options within walking distance, including Denny's directly adjacent to the property. All suites feature a wet bar with a microwave, and refrigerator. Our Suites are enticing to families traveling or other business travelers seeking high quality. An in-room desk and complimentary high-speed Internet access are standard. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield serves a "Hot on the House" complimentary breakfast from 6 to 10 AM daily and provides on the go breakfast bags during the week. A large meeting room with space for up to 65 suitable for corporate retreats or small meetings. Of special interest are the large outdoor heated pool and spa providing a welcome break from your long day. We also feature a fitness room, a 24-hour Business Center, a 24-hour suite shop. The Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield is directly off the freeway providing excellent location to downtown or other exciting stopping points in Bakersfield. We look forward to seeing you at the all new Hampton Inn and Suites Bakersfield...we love having you here! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58, Ca Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing