We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too bad it's in Bakersfield - should be in San Francisco”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This is truly a beautiful hotel! Our room was amazing. We had drinks in the bar, the bartender makes a good vodka/tonic. Coffee in the morning was not so good from their coffee bar/shop. Sketchy part of town. My car was super dusty when returned from the valet. That's when I realized it had been kept outside all night in a vacant lot next to the hotel. I had thought it was parked in the parking garage across the street. My daughter was unable to get on the free wifi.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RsvlTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Padre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

742 - 748 of 837 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2010

Fabulous boutique-type hotel in the center of Bakersfield. The room was significantly more spacious than I was anticipated and was comfortably outfitted. I was there shortly after the hotel opened. Plenty of dining choices downstairs, with a high-end restaurant (the food was very good; I'd go there again), a bar that also serves food, and a casual place for breakfast. Plus there is a nightclub on the ground floor, and the place was hopping the night I was there, even though it was a weeknight. WiFi access from the room was fine (and free). The only thing that was missing in the room was information about the hotel, menus, etc. - don't know if that was because the hotel hadn't yet been open long or that continues to be the case.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYTraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The Padre Hotel offers everything a road warrior expects. Great food, lively enterainment and a friendly staff. Do yourself a favor and skip the chains in Bakersfield and try this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wghoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

I used to live in Bakersfield, and 15 years ago this hotel was a derelict abandoned place with a transvestite piano bar in one corner of the lobby that you had to get through via a greenish spooky cavernous space with broken and flickering fluorescent lights. It had a crazy owner who used to hang banners out of the windows screaming invective against various public officials.
I'm amazed at how gorgeous the renovation is. I would never have guessed there were such lovely proportions and architectural details hiding in the dusty gloom. I guess it makes sense, as Bakersfield was once a booming oil town, so the main hotel back in the day was catering to the oil and cattle barons who demanded the best of the best. They've really restored it to it's former glory and then some, as there is a distinctly modern flair to the decor, in the best possible way. The lobby is tall and bright, with beautifully carved and curved arches leading to the various dining rooms, coffee shops and lounges. Upstairs, the contemporary design takes on a very design-y and edgy style, with very cool patterned wallpaper paired with bold upholstery on art-deco styled shapes. The rooms and bathrooms are huge and very comfortable. The bed was one of the comfiest I've come across.
I didn't really want to be in Bakersfield - there's not a lot to draw one there. But this hotel is almost reason enough to go on it's own.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I arranged a stay at the hotel for my son's wedding night and arranged ahead of time to pay for the room. The room was nice enough but upon checkout we were charged 2 times for the room. We contacted the Manager who still 5 days later has not been able to fix the issue with a simple refund to the card. This issue caused my son and his new bride some embarrassment when trying to use their card while on their honeymoon. I was offerred no compensation nor has the issue been fixed to date. I would avoid this hotel at all cost or pay cash.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank boaga1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Having passed through Bakersfield before, I was doubtful we would find anywhere decent to stay, but my eyes were truly opened by the Padre. It was genuinely like an oasis in a desert of .. well, desert! The staff were all excellent, and the hotel is more like something you would find in New York than in Bakersfield! It's sleek design - ultra modern and so clean! The beds are incredibly comfortable - best nights sleep we had all holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinkyDonut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

If you have business in 'downtown' Bakersfield, this is a great choice. I had to be at the courthouse and was able to walk from the hotel. The Padre Hotel is a modern, stylish boutique-type hotel which has retained its many historical architectural details and fluorishes. Our room on the 8th floor had very high ceilings and was quiet. Bed was comfortable and luxurious, with a down duvet as well as a featherbed. The staff has a great upbeat attitude, very nice. The bar has a young following. Prices reasonable. Highly recommended. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truthwilltell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing