We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience!”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the Padre Hotel in Bakersfield because of the great reviews I read on Tripadvisior, and we were not disappointed. From the time we arrived we were greeted warmly and promptly. Our room was on the 8th floor with a good view and the room was fantastic. I slept so well, the bed was so comfortable! We had a few drinks in the bar and dinner in the bar area. I will say that their veggie burger is in my top 5 that I have ever had, and I am a picky eater. I have never been to Bakersfield before, but I would stay at the Padre Hotel again if I am in the area. Very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you so much for the review! It's great to hear your first experience in Bakersfield was at the Padre Hotel - we love to share the exciting history and luxury accommodations with our guests. We hope you have the chance to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

394 - 400 of 861 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We spent a night at Hotel Padre.

The welcome started at the valet parking right outside the hotel. The stylish lobby has a bar, cafe and fine dining restaurant located off it and had a great buzz when we arrived.

Our Head Honcho suite was spacious with a separate lounge. The room decor was very chic and the bed felt like we were sleeping on a cloud! The bathroom had a spa bath, a walk-in shower and great amenities.

The Belevdere Room located on the lobby level was a great fine dining experience. Its well designed menu and great cocktail and wine list made for a great evening.

The hotel was a wonderful find and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandA6468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello MandA6468,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Padre Hotel and for the review! It sounds like you experienced the best of what Bakersfield has to offer. Our luxury accommodations can't be beat, and the Belvedere Fine Dining room has some of the best, and freshest, seasonal cuisine. We hope you enjoyed your travels and that if you are in the area again, you visit the Padre for another great experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stopped in Bakersfield on way to Yosemite and was directed to Padre Hotel for good restaurant in downtown area. Not disappointed The Padre is a refurbished historic hotel with a beautiful lobby with restaurant and bar. If you find yourself in Bakersfield on a super hot day this a nice cool oasis for a little rest. The staff very cordial and friendly. Excellent menu too

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank chuck s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Chuck S.

Thank you for stopping at the Padre Hotel for your meal! We have such a wide variety of dining and menu options available and the Padre really is a nice little vacation from the hustle and bustle of the city. Your compliments will be shared with the team, and we hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is not your average chain hotel. It is also a bit more expensive than such a place, but it is way better, as well. Our room on the top floor boasted nice views and was well equipped. There are real glasses and porcelain cups, no paper or plastic.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank terbang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hello Terbang,

Thank you for staying at the Padre Hotel and for the review! The Padre Hotel is definitely unique and offers the most luxurious accommodations in Bakersfield. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope that you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

I have watched this hotel become the destination, hip place . Clearly there is a great vision behind it. The rooms and public places are cool and hip. The service is friendly and efficient. Yet, inexplicably, housekeeping misfires. The room was stocked with beverages some if which required an opener. It wasn't stocked. Although it was brought upon request, the person who brought it demanded that it would be handed to them after opening the bottle. There was no on demand movies, and I didn't see a hair dryer. The room had one robe, but the standard (and mist likely) occupancy is 2. Little details like these take away from what is otherwise a great hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Onepoet,

Thank you for staying at the Padre and for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very much appreciated. The Padre Team is working to ensure the best is always available for our guests. We hope you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The building is original but the rooms are very contemporary. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. I left something in the hotel room by mistake when I checked out. They called that afternoon to let me know and arranged to mail it immediately. Friendly staff, valet parking.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Talleyhooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi Talleyhooo,

Thanks for choosing to stay at the Padre and for the review. The friendly front desk agents are always going above and beyond to ensure our guests are having a great time, even after they've left! We hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

It's not health food but I highly recommend the chicken and waffles and the bottomless mimosas. The chilaquiles and the biscuits and gravy are the best in town. The food is fabulous. The service is mediocre when it comes to attentiveness. The hotel has beautiful rooms if you have an excuse to stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank EngineerTiffany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Hi EngineerTiffany, thank you for the review. Bakersfield really has some stiff competition when it comes to brunch, but the Padre brunch is one of a kind. The chilaquiles are my favorite, but with such a dynamic menu it is really hard to choose! We hope you can come back soon for a full visit in our rooms. It's a great staycation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
600 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $129 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing