We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Bakersfield!!!”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is AMAZING!!! Great accommodations, rooms, staff, atmosphere, and food!!! The Padre is my "go to" hotel from now on!!! The staff is very professional, polite, and with out a doubt know what they are doing!! Especially Chris Khun, the night security is ON POINT!!! Thanks Padre staff for making our trip a pleasurable one!!!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Wes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks Wes C! We are so happy to hear that your stay was wonderful! Chris is certainly a great asset to the team and we also appreciate how he goes above and beyond each night to ensure our guests are safe and happy. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (836)
There are newer reviews for Padre Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 836 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

This was a delightful surprise. It really is a boutique hotel with a lovely restAura t and. Fun sports bar filled with activity. The bar food was delicious . The rooms are spacious. The bathrooms amazing. Who would have guessed that Bakersfield can be such a satisfying break on a trip. We are on our way to Yosemite and would be delighted to stop here. Either direction.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noni40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Hi noni40! Thank you for taking the time to write that review. Our team reads these reviews every day and we love hearing about all of the fun experiences our guests have! Yosemite is a beautiful place and we hope you do get to visit us again if you are headed this direction later.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Beautiful ride in from SD - tired when i arrived. Marco took great car of me, Marcus the valet had a keen eye on my bike until I left the following morning.

Took care of business, came back and surprised the rooftop staff before they were open. No worries at all - the lovely Isabel took great care of me - got me my drink, and then handled my dinner needs - highly recommend the Rib eye with the beet salad. Such a beautiful personality - can only hope my daughter grows up to be that lovely :). Upstairs bar livened up when Brandi arrive - she is a little shy at first (no, not really) but is just the personality you need to relax and let your troubles laugh away. She was able to give me all things Bakersfield - history of the hotel, places to go, and places to stay away from. also shared some stories with Zak from Cincinnati - this place just always made me feel welcomed. Could be the environment - but i say mostly due to the people!

This hotel has a very cool vibe...and a unique personality. Every team member I met made me feel relaxed and at home.

Rooms were clean, beds were sleep ready - haven't slept this well in years.

Young or old - You owe it to yourself to enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

Hi Mark, thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Our team always goes above and beyond in surprising ways so it is always a special treat when team members are recognized. We hope you can visit us again soon, and since it sounds like you're from San Diego be sure to check out some of the other properties that Eat.Drink.Sleep owns! Tower23 is a beautiful hotel with fantastic restaurants and beach view, and the newly renovated Lakehouse Resort in San Marcos is just as unique and fun as the Padre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed here as it was a stopover between Vegas and San Francisco. Amazing place, and so cheap too. We got a double room (2 double beds) for $125 for the night. We arrived at 10pm and they were still sparky and energetic. Chris Kuhn settled us in, checked our luggage and had our car parked and then he even bought us all some tea and biscuits to the room. He was quite proud of his neighbourhood and very proud of the hotel, boasting about how they have some excellent weekend times with a lot of people. Then he said if we could not sleep, he would be happy to point out some of the local points of interest. Such a great asset to the hotel. So very typical of the out of town hospitality. We loved it and will try to go back. A lovely memorable break in our trip thanks to this place.
The rooms were very clean and the beds very comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macrat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you Oscarnese for the review! Chris is definitely a valuable asset to the Padre team and he truly enjoys meeting and treating our guests. I will be sure to share your review with him. We are also glad you were able to enjoy the hotel and the downtown atmosphere. We hope you can visit us again soon! Give us a call when you're ready to reserve and be sure to mention this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Absolutely loved it here. Easy check in, room huge, rates fantastic. We had dinner in the bar, value for money. We had breakfast as well again value, fresh food service was a high standard all staff friendly. The girl on check in was kind enough to print out a map to the shops for us and the next day Marco helped us with some documentation we needed to scan and send off, nothing was a bother... I'd highly recommend Padre hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Nikkiroos! Thank you for the review! Our team does a great job of providing stellar service. The front desk team, Marco included, love to go above and beyond whenever they can and it's a real treat for them to hear from the guests afterwards. We hope you can visit us again soon! Be sure to give us a call when making future reservations, and mention this review for an upgraded room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Decorated with love and wit, super clean, hip, modern, and cool, the Padre manages to be ultramodern and historical at the same time. Very polite staff, room service, and a bar, restaurant and coffee shop all on the premises. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Itzi B! Thank you for the review! We love your photos and the way you manage to describe the hotel is spot-on! We strive to be the most luxurious resting option in Bakersfield, while at the same time offering charm and a touch of the Bakersfield spirit that the locals know and love. We hope you can visit us again soon! Be sure to give us a call and mention this review for a real treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We absoutley loved this place, we live near San Francisco, and this hotel reminds me of something in the City. Everything about this hotel I loved. The only place we will stay when visiting Bakersfield. The staff was awesome, felt right at home, everyone from the desk staff to the security, they were all awesome!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello SonjayB! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are honored to be your number one choice in Bakersfield! From our wonderful staff to the uniquely decadent environment, we have so much to offer in terms of dining, entertainment, and luxury rooms. Be sure to mention this review when you make your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $127 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing