We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (996)
Filter reviews
996 results
Traveler rating
681
222
51
21
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
222
51
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelhead honchorooftop barbelvedere restaurantvalet servicefox theaterdowntown bakersfieldcool hotelcorner roomroom serviceroad tripnight's sleepbrimstonefarmaciamaverickwinkshaunted
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 996 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Absolutely loved it here. Easy check in, room huge, rates fantastic. We had dinner in the bar, value for money. We had breakfast as well again value, fresh food service was a high standard all staff friendly. The girl on check in was kind enough to print out a map to the shops for us and the next day Marco helped us with some documentation we needed to scan and send off, nothing was a bother... I'd highly recommend Padre hotel...

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happywanderer_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Nikkiroos! Thank you for the review! Our team does a great job of providing stellar service. The front desk team, Marco included, love to go above and beyond whenever they can and it's a real treat for them to hear from the guests afterwards. We hope you can visit us again soon! Be sure to give us a call when making future reservations, and mention this review for an upgraded room!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Decorated with love and wit, super clean, hip, modern, and cool, the Padre manages to be ultramodern and historical at the same time. Very polite staff, room service, and a bar, restaurant and coffee shop all on the premises. Free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itzi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Itzi B! Thank you for the review! We love your photos and the way you manage to describe the hotel is spot-on! We strive to be the most luxurious resting option in Bakersfield, while at the same time offering charm and a touch of the Bakersfield spirit that the locals know and love. We hope you can visit us again soon! Be sure to give us a call and mention this review for a real treat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We absoutley loved this place, we live near San Francisco, and this hotel reminds me of something in the City. Everything about this hotel I loved. The only place we will stay when visiting Bakersfield. The staff was awesome, felt right at home, everyone from the desk staff to the security, they were all awesome!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjayB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello SonjayB! Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are honored to be your number one choice in Bakersfield! From our wonderful staff to the uniquely decadent environment, we have so much to offer in terms of dining, entertainment, and luxury rooms. Be sure to mention this review when you make your next reservation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a gorgeous boutique hotel, with great restaurants and coffee/snack bar.

The rooms are modern and well done. Spacious bathroom and shower. The only weird part is that the person in the bathroom does not have a choice of privacy. There is a "window blind" next to the bed to close off the shower view (and the toilet). However the person in the shower or toilet have no choice of whether that is closed or pulled back for all to see. So this room is ok for couples but not room sharing with friends. A family members kid thought it was great to "surprise" mommy by pulling it back for all to see.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Chad-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Chad-Chi, thank you for the review! It sounds like you experienced our wonderful 40 Winks room. We have a variety of rooms available with various layouts and features. The 40 Winks features the "peek-a-boo" shower that you mentioned, but our larger rooms are more private and some include a jacuzzi tub. We hope you can return and experience one of these luxurious options. Be sure to mention this review when you call for an upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I love good surprises! Booked a last minute hotel on Priceline and ended up with the Padre 4 star, built in the 1920's and totally Art Deco which I love! Who knew such a cool hotel existed in Bakersfield! And also the best valet ever! Chris Kuhn walked me 2 blocks to the ATM at 11:30 pm when I arrived because Downtown Bakersfield late night, a bit sketchy! He really goes the extra mile and has a great attitude! I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Pamela T, thank you for the review! Our valet team does their best to make sure each guest begins the Padre experience with the best service. Chris Kuhn is a wonderful asset to the team and it is so great to hear he was able to go above and beyond to help you out! We hope you can visit us again soon. Next time you book, be sure to call us directly and mention this review for an upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews