We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,021)
Filter reviews
1,021 results
Traveler rating
694
232
53
21
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
694
232
53
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel head honcho rooftop bar belvedere restaurant valet service fox theater downtown bakersfield cool hotel corner room room service road trip night's sleep brimstone farmacia maverick winks haunted
Filter
Updating list...
601 - 606 of 1,021 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was a gorgeous boutique hotel, with great restaurants and coffee/snack bar.

The rooms are modern and well done. Spacious bathroom and shower. The only weird part is that the person in the bathroom does not have a choice of privacy. There is a "window blind" next to the bed to close off the shower view (and the toilet). However the person in the shower or toilet have no choice of whether that is closed or pulled back for all to see. So this room is ok for couples but not room sharing with friends. A family members kid thought it was great to "surprise" mommy by pulling it back for all to see.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Chad-chi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hi Chad-Chi, thank you for the review! It sounds like you experienced our wonderful 40 Winks room. We have a variety of rooms available with various layouts and features. The 40 Winks features the "peek-a-boo" shower that you mentioned, but our larger rooms are more private and some include a jacuzzi tub. We hope you can return and experience one of these luxurious options. Be sure to mention this review when you call for an upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I love good surprises! Booked a last minute hotel on Priceline and ended up with the Padre 4 star, built in the 1920's and totally Art Deco which I love! Who knew such a cool hotel existed in Bakersfield! And also the best valet ever! Chris Kuhn walked me 2 blocks to the ATM at 11:30 pm when I arrived because Downtown Bakersfield late night, a bit sketchy! He really goes the extra mile and has a great attitude! I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Pamela T, thank you for the review! Our valet team does their best to make sure each guest begins the Padre experience with the best service. Chris Kuhn is a wonderful asset to the team and it is so great to hear he was able to go above and beyond to help you out! We hope you can visit us again soon. Next time you book, be sure to call us directly and mention this review for an upgrade!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Traveling is one of my favorite things to do, because of this I do my research prior to visiting a city, specific area, hotel, restaurant....... My husband & I were planning a quick weekend trip to Bakersfield from Northern CA. After checking on our Southwest miles I found 3 hotels that would honor the points, Padre Hotel being one of them.
My homework turned up a lot of negative experiences from club / party noise to rude employees, the decor needed updating and poor lighting in the rooms.
I'm guessing these reviewers have expectations that couldn't be met in the best situations, you can imagine the type I'm referring to. Chalking it up to the guests attitude can be a deal breaker of the experience based on their own demise.
Negative read, Positive stay
From the time we arrived and met with the valet to check in we were treated with professionalism and courtesy. Our room, 8th floor was dimly lit, but enjoyable. The fan in the room drowned out noise from the 2nd floor roof top lounge, which didn't bother us AT all. Privacy of the glass shower stall wasn't an issue, we are married. Our room was small, but not too small (negative from other reviewers) when traveling you don't need a mansion, but you need space then fork out the money for a suite. Hands down we would LOVE to stay at the Padre Hotel if the opportunity arises.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you don't party and wish to rest, they will make a note in the system prior to your arrival. $10 valet is a one time fee even if you come and go several times from the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyeLoveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Tigergirl89, thank you for the wonderful review! We appreciate your honest feedback and are very grateful that you gave the Padre a chance. We have a wonderful team that enjoys working here, and that is reflected in the quality of service and guest experience. Our rooms vary in size, from the smaller 40 Winks room that you described to our larger Head Honcho suites (a real treat for any occasion), and even two of the nicest penthouse suites in Bakersfield, the Farmer's Daughter and Oil Baron. We hope you can visit us soon in your travels. We would be delighted to give you a full property tour and have you experience another one of our luxurious rooms!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night travelling from San Francisco to Las Vegas. Hotel is great and the room is "wow". Beautifully decorated and very stylish. We would recommend the valet parking for a small charge, saves any hassle. Hotel was very busy but service was quick and friendly and we weren't troubled by any noise once in our room. Bed was very comfortable. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jawb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Hello Jawb65, thank you for the review! We are a popular destination for those traveling the lonely rode to Vegas. It's great to hear you enjoyed your visit, from our excellent staff to the luxurious memory foam Isoform beds. We hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Restored Hotel built in the 1920's. They've turned it into one of the hippest boutique hotels in the valley. Everything tip top. Gorgeously restored inside. Like walking into a 5 star property. Don't let the area or outside of the building fool you. Valet quick. Bell hops quick. Check in quick. Room immaculate for the price. 4 themed New Years Eve parties going at the same time. In the same hotel mind you! New Years Eve welcome kit with champagne, chocolate dipped strawberries and a recovery kit for the next day with sodas, water, energy drinks, cookies, baked goods and alka seltzer. First time here. Did not want to have to drive anywhere while drinking. Perfect spot.

One note, book a Maverick room or higher. The 40 winks rooms have a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom with only a sheer see through curtain for privacy. So if you don't want who's with you seeing you take care of business be advised.

In a seedier part of downtown but hey, you're inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Book a Maverick room or higher. The 40 winks rooms have a glass wall between the bedroom and bathroom with only a sheer see through curtain for privacy. So if you don't want who's with you seeing you take care of business be advised.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mestisoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Our New Year's Eve "Under the Stars" was a huge hit! I'm so glad to hear you were able to experience the celebration and all of the room amenities! Our Recovery Packages were a fun way to show our guests that we care. Thank you for the review and the pictures, and we hope you can visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews