We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great boutique hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

When traveling for business, obviously on a budget, it is nice to find a hidden gem. This hotel delivered. Comfy room, good in-room wifi, excellent in house restaurant, and a great little shop serving good quality coffee for breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gatoventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello and thank you for the 5 star review! It's so great that our guests take the time to give us feedback from their stays. We appreciate all of our guests and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed so much of the Padre amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    156
    39
    14
    17
See reviews for
78
291
33
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kernville, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have heard such great things about the Padre, we finally got an opportunity to stay there And I can tell you everything we heard was absolutely true. We did little Internet research and found the deluxe king suite on booking.com for less than $100 on Sunday. The hotel is very modern and trendy and this is easily a $300 a night room just down the road Hollywood. The entire hotel has a hip young atmosphere, the rooms are outfitted in beautiful furniture the bed was incredibly comfortable, the view from the 7th floor overlooking downtown Bakersfield was nice, and the staff was friendly and helpful. There is only one downside and that is parking. You pretty much have to valet because there is no affiliated parking lot and street parking has late night restrictions. STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for the review, Mike! The Padre is a popular destination for those traveling through the area, but it's always wonderful to hear from the locals as well! We hope you get to come visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has beautiful newly designed modern rooms, feather bedding, great food and friendly, courteous staff. There is a great outdoor roof top bar on second floor and coffee shop on main floor.
I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoCoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello! Thanks for the 5 star review! We certainly do enjoy hearing about all of the different aspects of the Padre our guests enjoy. Prairie Fire and Farmacy are definitely some of the most popular spots in Downtown Bakersfield for both visitors and locals, so we are happy you got to experience them. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed here in May last year but have only just registered and had to write a review about this hotel. I hadn't been to Bakersfield before and researched hotels on here first - the Padre came out tops and it is well deserved.

I am used to staying in over-priced and decidedly average hotels in the US on business but this place is a real gem. A real boutique hotel with great rooms, great food, a nice bar and great service.

Highly recommended for business or pleasure and if I find myself back in Bakersfield there is not doubt as to where I will be staying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ognSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Wow, thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! We love that you had such a great time, even on a business trip. We hope you can come visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

On arrival impressive hotel deco is stunning and modern but still keeping the charm.
Food amazing, good service from waiter, but when settling the bill it's was a farce, slow and ignored had to prompt them twice to get the bill from host desk. Shame as the meal was so good. Bar was busy and full if life. Being in the 8th floor didn't hear the music or people that we were warned about. Only problem for me was memory foam mattress I hate them and so had a poor nights sleep. All in all great place to stay for a bit of luxury on a road trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianT1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review! Your feedback is much appreciated. On your next visit let us know your bed preference and we will be happy to remove the memory foam bedtopper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a fantastic welcome when we arrived at the hotel - greatly appreciated after an 8-hour car journey! The rooms were gorgeous - spacious, comfortable, lovely bed and bed linen. The hotel is a lively spot and there's a great buzz in the bar, where food is tasty and reasonably priced. A water cooler in the lobby would be a welcome addition. Overall, we'd highly recommend the Padre Hotel to travellers. What was supposed to be a stopover en route to the coast became a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It makes the Padre team very happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay; it's especially great to hear that it was the highlight of a trip! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the states and hope that you can make a return visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple times. NIce hotel. Comfortable rooms, clean easy to get to and street and self parking is plentiful. Good bar. However, the rate you pay does not justify these amenities in comparison to other hotels in town. I started staying at the Marriott Convention Center where the rooms are much bigger (The Padre Rooms are much like European which could reflect the SRO it once was---or has the feel of). I'd stay here again but only if the Marriott were full. The value just isn't there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piper181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return to the Padre and enjoy the variety of food venues and activities in the area. The Padre takes pride in being unique to Bakersfield, as well as a historical of downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 631 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th Street, Bakersfield, CA 93301
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing