We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A lovely surprise on a long journey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A lovely surprise on a long journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a fantastic welcome when we arrived at the hotel - greatly appreciated after an 8-hour car journey! The rooms were gorgeous - spacious, comfortable, lovely bed and bed linen. The hotel is a lively spot and there's a great buzz in the bar, where food is tasty and reasonably priced. A water cooler in the lobby would be a welcome addition. Overall, we'd highly recommend the Padre Hotel to travellers. What was supposed to be a stopover en route to the coast became a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review! It makes the Padre team very happy to hear that our guests enjoy their stay; it's especially great to hear that it was the highlight of a trip! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the states and hope that you can make a return visit. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    161
    39
    15
    18
See reviews for
82
295
34
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here a couple times. NIce hotel. Comfortable rooms, clean easy to get to and street and self parking is plentiful. Good bar. However, the rate you pay does not justify these amenities in comparison to other hotels in town. I started staying at the Marriott Convention Center where the rooms are much bigger (The Padre Rooms are much like European which could reflect the SRO it once was---or has the feel of). I'd stay here again but only if the Marriott were full. The value just isn't there

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piper181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you for the review. We hope that you can return to the Padre and enjoy the variety of food venues and activities in the area. The Padre takes pride in being unique to Bakersfield, as well as a historical of downtown. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Excellent hotel! Gorgeous rooms, helpful staff, great vibe. Would definitely stay again. They booked us a table at Buck Owen's Crystal Palace too - unmissable. Good location for gas, food, freeways. Only spent one night as on a 1800 mile road trip but pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nerradtreborsniktaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the 5 star review. I'm glad the hotel was a highlight of your trip, we only wish you could have stayed more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised to find such a wonderfully remodeled historic hotel in downtown Bakersfield. My friends and I arrived mid-week for a graduation, so it wasn't until our last night that we saw how busy the bar was with locals on weekends. That evening I did hear a lot of loud talking and laughing in the hallway, but thankfully it didn't last long. The rooms are very nice and modern, with a unique bathroom, at least in the smaller rooms. My only complaint is that the lighting in the bathroom is very, very dim, and even the addition of a lighted magnifying mirror didn't help my older eyes. The restaurant had a good variety of bar food and happy hour started at noon, which is unusual but appreciated. Overall, it was a very good visit, but being with my friends probably had a lot to do with that opinion. Oh, and be prepared to get a new room/elevator card often.

Room Tip: Get a room on the highest floor you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Sounds like you got to experience all of what the Padre has to offer! So glad you enjoyed your time here. Thank you for the kind words- hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A trip to Bakersfield is no thrill, but the Padre Hotel makes it into a pleasure. What a magnificent remodel of a historical property! The rooms are spacious, beautifully furnished, and have a modern vibe. The architects and designers really thought this one out, down to the color of the tiles and curtains. The hotel has three restaurants and an excellent coffee bar, making the lobby a lively, inviting place, an oasis in a rather lifeless downtown. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, and my mid-week stay was undisturbed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So good to hear you had a blast on your way through Bakersfield! Thank you for the kind words and we all hope you get to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here on a road trip. Hotel has been beautifully remodelled. Decor is funky and modern. Room was comfortable, clean and quiet (we were on the 7th floor). There is a small but adequate fitness centre which we used twice. Bar area is very lively and was packed with what seemed like locals on the night we visited. There is a popular pool table in the bar area! We ate from the bar menu and the food was great. Service was friendly and efficient. The Padre hotel was a nice surprise and is good value for the standard of accommodation that you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for the 5 Star review! Our property is continually trying to outdo itself and we are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guezou
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

OK i start with the one thing I didn't like : the A/C was noisy.

But on the other hand, the Padre was a divine surprise. Beautiful rooms; confortable beds, great bar on the patio, and the remodelling they did is clean, impressive and fun.

I will stay here again as we were very nicely accomodated and the staff was very helpful and nice. It worked for us as a family and I am positive it would be nice for singles as the bar in the lobby was crowded with happy shinny people and it seemed to me like a nice pick up place.

Then congratulations again for this great place in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guezou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thanks for the review! It's great to hear your family enjoyed the Padre. We have a lot to offer for everyone. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing