We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Padre Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Residence Inn Bakersfield(Bakersfield)
$133
$124
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $99/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
La Quinta
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveler rating
635
211
48
19
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
211
48
19
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshead honchoboutique hotelrooftop barbelvedere restaurantvalet servicefox theatervalet parking isdowntown bakersfieldglass wallcool hotelcorner roomroom servicesan franciscoroad tripnight's sleeplong drivebrimstone
Filter
Updating list...
572 - 577 of 933 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed overnight on the way from Napa to Las Vegas. Centrally located and a real gem of a hotel. The hotel is trendy and rooms are clean. Didn't try the funky restaurant. Tip for overnight stays who drive. U don't need to valet ur car. Keep it off the street in the public garage that allows free parking for three hours continuously. It closes at midnight but Heck there's nothing to do in bakersfield after 1700 that's not in the Padre anyway. This tip saved us 10 bucks plus gratuity too.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshawng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband arranged a suite for my birthday, what a surprise! This is the most unique hotel I have stayed in. Who would have thought I was still in Bakersfield? Top notch!

The setup was very urban chic, cool lamps, great design, well decorated. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in! EVER! Loved it.

The bathroom, although a tad dark for applying makeup, was unique, and showed definite attention to its design. The gray and black colors with the turquoise soap as a pop, impressive. Separate shower and tub, with the tub filling from the ceiling, cool and different.

I can't speak to services, we didn't use any. But the room rocked! It's worth staying even if you live in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank lneath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Sounds like a great staycation! Our rooms are the best Bakersfield has to offer. Thank you for choosing the Padre as the place for your birthday celebration. We hope you can come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were on our way to Yosemite from Las Vegas and needed a place to break up the journey. Glancing at the map, Bakersfield looked like an interesting place, and a quick browse on Tripadvisor pointed us towards the Padre.

Check in was an absolute breeze, and our hire car was taken by the concierge. After freshening up in our room we went downstairs to the bar to get something to eat. The food was excellent and even better, it was half price cocktails all night. After at sampling the whole cocktail menu it was time to make use of the very comfy beds.

I found the Padre to be an excellent hotel, the staff were excellent and the rooms were of a very high standard indeed. Should we ever be back in the Bakersfield area, we'll be staying at the Padre!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for the review. The team takes great pride in all the Padre has to offer, and it sounds like you had a blast! We hope you can come visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Love this place. Great people. Great rooms. Great design. Historical. This room would be over a grand a night in NYC.

Their breakfasts are great, and they have excellent coffee. Wonderful linens, and comfy beds. The showers are to die for.

Interestingly, I have never "partied" there - we are usually there passing thru for work so good nights rest is important. Never heard a party going on, unless you are in the lobby.

Stop here every time on our way to Los Angeles. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toospirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

We do have a lot of fun here at the Padre, and it's great that you enjoyed it as well! Thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

First consider why you are staying in this hotel. If you go to be seen and have a party time- this is the place, if this is just a stopping point on your way somewhere else, probably not for you. Beautiful hotel, great staff -very Kimpton style boutique hotel. The rooms are very roomy for the age of the hotel and decor is very cool. We stayed one night on a saturday as we were traveling and the bar and restaurant was standing room only, we weren't looking for a party and decided to walk around downtown to find another restaurant- big mistake. There is nothing open on a saturday evening after 5pm. its a downtown area full of tattoo joints and adult stores - only two food choices both again packed. Ended up eating take out in the room. We were told there was a wedding reception that added to the crowd, but also to the noise at 3am. People were loud and drunk in the hall yelling to the point we had to call security- who was very prompt to the situation and quieted everyone down. No knock on the hotel- it is what it is, a party hotel, just know that when you book your stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapmac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer J, Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. It sounds like you visited on a very lively weekend. I'm glad the staff responded promptly to your concerns. We hope you can come visit us again soon and experience more of what the Padre has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews