We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best hotel in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Best hotel in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The service here is awesome booked my room last minute and they were able to help me out no problem. front desk service was fast and easy and were able to help me make my choice in what room would fit best for me ,Thanks to front desk member Marcos for the help.he maid it confutable making my choice staying in this wonderful hotel.cant wait to stay there.

Room Tip: The one king size bed rooms are very nice and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abtraham a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Our staff is just as amazing as our incredible building! Thank you for staying with us.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    162
    39
    15
    19
See reviews for
84
298
35
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The food is the best I've ever eaten, the service is first class. The waiters actually know what they are serving and can recommend the correct wine for the meal. I meet the GM and he is the most personable individual any company could hire. I can't say enough about this hotel and restaurant. .

Room Tip: The bar band can get loud so ask to be away from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Our fantastic Belvedere Restaurant is a one of a kind in Bakersfield, and we are so proud of it! It was such a pleasure meeting you, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I am in the aviation industry and have been staying at the Padre Hotel every two weeks since the beginning of January 2013. Consistently they out perform every hotel I have been in so far with their warm friendly greetings and willingness to go the extra mile. It seems every time I stay at the Padre it just keeps getting better. I recently had the fortune of meeting the general manager who was as warm and friendly as the rest of the staff. He was there late making sure everything was running smoothly. If you ever spend the night in Bakersfield, make no mistake. Stay at the Padre Hotel. It is a 5 star, diamond resort hotel with prices that are comparable to the other brand name hotels. The difference is the service.

Room Tip: Any room at this hotel is great. It is an older hotel that has been remodeled from the ground up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingwulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are so glad to see you upon every visit! Thank you, ......you see that we work hard every day to make every guest stay perfect, looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have never seen such a beautifully restored building, run by such a gaggle of dummies. The restoration of this hotel is really over-the-top. From custom designed wallpaper, fixtures, common areas, the aesthetic of the place is pure boutique. But make the mistake of hoping to be served in a timely manner, or with a modicum of politeness is something you can't expect here. On one night, they up-charged my whisky an extra $2.00 for ordering it neat! NEAT! When I highlighted the nuttiness to the bar manager, he argued with me, telling me "you specifically ordered it neat". Dumb-ness!
Also, when I booked the room, I reserved an upgraded "Maverick" room for an extra cost. As a repeating guest I asked if any upgrades may be available, they enthusiastically informed me that I had been upgraded to a Maverick room. Even though I had paid for the premium, they considered that to still be an upgrade. I could go on and on about their dumbness and poor service, but you get the gist. It's a remarkable property, with remarkably dumb attitudes and behaviours. Amateurs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcmcman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
I am sorry our amazing staff, as you have seen from all of our 5 star reviews, did not make your stay perfect. We do look forward to seeing you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I don't know what kind of mattress that was but I sure slept like a newborn baby! That alone gives this hotel two thumbs up from me. But to go on about the perks, its right in the heart of downtown, so everything is in walking distance, dining, restaurants, clubs, bars, museums, tattoo, novelty shopping, boutiques, salon, you name it, you can walk to it! There's a cool hang out downstairs, Brimstone, they've got premium drinks, pool table, chill atmosphere. Back to the rooms...there was Aquatics brand toiletries that were exquisite, the glass shower wall looks out into the bedroom ( I thought that was super sexy) and you can watch the news while showering...Lol!

Overall 2 thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LolaSkye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Every day is another opportunity for us to make every guest stay amazing, thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I recently stayed at the Padre Hotel for business. This is a great hotel! The restaurant and the service was first rate! The hotel and the people there were very nice and made me feel like I was somewhere other than Bakersfield. My overall stay was GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We are #1 in Bakersfield, and thank you so much for staying with us.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San DIego
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We came up for the Old Crow Medicine Show Concert at Buck Owens Palace - had a great time. Stayed at the hotel and it's very nice. We got back from the show and we surprised to find out our room, on the 4th floor, was right above a dance club and it was crazy loud. Mgt did switch rooms for us, but inconvenient at 11pm. Thus said, we enjoyed our time here. Our room was not ready when we got here. Had to wait half hour.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PanicFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
We look forward to seeing you again, thanks for staying at Padre.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 662 reviews
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing