We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“My new favorite hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Nipomo, California
Level Contributor
155 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My new favorite hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I was in San Francisco about a month ago having dinner with friends who travel a lot. We were talking about favorite hotels around the world. One said mine is in Bakersfield, The Padre. We laughed. I had never even been to Bakersfield but it just doesn't have the same ring as Paris or NYC. So a few days later I get a call to come to Bakersfield and I said yes and I want to stay at the Padre.

I LOVED it. Funky, cool, comfortable and elegant. I had a spa tub with the water spout in the ceiling, large glass shower, gorgeous bathroom. The bed was heaven. The room is so chic, with four sets of windows, a comfortable sectional couch, and a gray enamel desk. Every single staff member I encountered was so, so friendly and not a forced friendly. Real. Yuri at the front desk was a doll. Great location and amazing price.

Who ever said they want to go back to Bakersfield? Me, me, me!!

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor, quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Welcome to the Padre family, thank you so much for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    161
    39
    15
    18
See reviews for
82
295
34
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joshua Tree, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had heard great things about this hotel from many artist friends who stayed here while exhibiting at Metro Galleries in downtown Bakersfield. Still, I was unprepared for the quirky elegance of the place. And oh, those beds! My husband said it was like sleeping on a layer of shaving cream - absolutely delicious! Unfortunately, it was just an overnight trip for us and we didn't have a chance to sample the bar or restaurant, but will definitely try them out next time. It's true that the downstairs bar and club are hopping on weekends, but after inserting our "don't leave home without them" earplugs, we had a good nights' sleep. Only one tiny criticism: the windows don't open. It might have been nice to have fresh air instead of relying on the air conditioner all night .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JTArtCarAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Metro Galleries is one of our wonderful neighbors, thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've stayed in Bakersfield many times and have stayed with all the major hotel chains: Hilton, Marriott and Starwood. I only stayed at the Padre because others in my party had reservations here. Boy was I shocked! This is a very hip hotel in downtown that had a great lobby bar, somewhat part of the local scene as I gathered, and really cool rooms. I felt like I was in LA or New York. All for less than $100!! Can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thaiger50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Yes, the best in Bakersfield! Hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Padre Hotel in Bakersfield has lovely rooms with a very gracious staff and easily found location from Highway 99. The beds are bliss and the downstairs restaurant is very popular with discerning locals. It is an oasis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Our staff is #1 here in Bakersfield. Thank you and hope to see you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about about the Padre. It was reasonably priced, and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Despite the fact that the bar and club on the ground floor was really loud on a Friday and Saturday night --- the rooms were so sound proofed I didn't hear a thing. The rooms were really clean and very pretty. And the bison burger I had downstairs was fantastic. Every person at the hotel was really friendly and helpful. Any time I have any reason to be in Bakersfield I am not staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Youssarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you so much for staying at Padre!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Great room decor and service. This is a great hotel, I likely will not stay anywhere else in Bakersfield. The in house dining and bars are extremely good. The overall feel of the building and the rooms is very cozy and stylish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you and welcome to the Padre family. We hope to see you soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Padre because of the many Trip Advisor recommendations. Not at all disappointed. The room was very modern and extremely clean. We enjoyed the Tuesday Happy Hour, $1 Tacos and $4 Margaritas. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We'll be staying here on our next Bakersfield visit

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Taco Tuesday is a favorite here at the Padre! Thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hill House
#9 of 61 in Bakersfield
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 61 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing