We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bakersfield gem”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Bakersfield gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I understand there were challenges in this hotel's remodel in the midst of the Great Recession, but it looks like it was worth it. The rooms are nicely done; the staff is attentive and friendly; the lobby is inviting and even a bit majestic. It has a boutique feel, and so is more interesting than the corporate hotels while providing a high level of quality and service. This is likely the hotel to which I'll return when in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janos77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you so much for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    185
    41
    15
    19
See reviews for
99
328
39
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Should you ever need to stop anywhere within striking distance of Bakersfiled, don't hesitate provided you can get a room at the Padre. Although the surrounding area has little to shout about, the hotel is a beacon of style. Fabulous decor, great staff and, although we stayed only one night (a Sunday) the food on offer in the bar was really good. We were upgraded on arrival and found ourselves in a really good room (with a bathroom the size or some hotel rooms I have experienced) with a very comfortable bed. A couple of niggles (no loo paper was one) were quickly resolved and we had an excellent stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We love to upgrade, thank you for your stay!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel one night on a business trip to Bakersfield and had a very nice experience. The valet parking was very convenient (and cheap) as it was raining when I arrived.
The check-in was very efficient, the entire process took around a minute.
Apparently I was upgraded to a Maverick room, a spacious room with a view of the back of the hotel. I suspect the real reason was that the floor below was undergoing renovation, but who complains?
Modern design, good comfortable bed. Good internet connection.
Used room service for dinner that night, the food and service very good.
Highly recommended for a night in Bakersfield.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoTravel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We hope to see you again soon, thank you!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wanted to take the time to compliment Zach, the corporate sales manager who I had the pleasure of communicating with regarding setting up a corporate account for our company. He went above and beyond in his customer service care! He was quick to respond to every question I had as well as giving our company the incentive to ALWAYS use the Padre for each and every one of our out of town guests. I even received a handwritten thank you note from him! I personally make the reservations for our clients using our corporate account and each of our guests have made comments to us on how wonderful their stay was. Not only is the hotel beautiful, but convenient for downtown business meetings and meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Zach is one of many shining stars here at Padre, thank you so much for your corporate business!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at The Padre on a Friday night. It was my husband's birthday, so we splurged a little for the room and also made reservations at the Belvedere Restaurant on the first floor. We arrived at 3:30pm and was told our room was not ready, to come back in 30 minutes. We left and came back at 4:30pm. We valet-parked the car and carried in our luggage. Unfortunately our room was still not ready, so we had a drink at the bar because it was happy hour. We had 6pm dinner reservations, but knew we had some time. Finally, our room was ready at 5:15pm. We had reserved one of the nice corner rooms, and it was lovely. We had a great dinner that night, but went to bed early as we had a long drive the following day. As soon as we layed our heads on our pillows, we started hearing the music. It went until 1:30am! There is a nightclub across the street and they must have been having a great time because the band or DJ never stopped for more than a few minutes at a time! I would not recommend OUR room on a Friday or Saturday night, but during the week it would probably be wonderful. Or, if you like to party, go for it! Just thought I'd write a warning, because we had not read this anywhere else.

Room Tip: Beware on Friday or Saturday nights - it's noisy! Ask for a room away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BackRoadsCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your visit, we hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

So pleased they actually read their reviews. Got makeup mirrors in the bathrooms ladies. Resteraunt excellent, again. Bar awesome, again. ROOM super comfy. Staff WONDERFUL and so pleasant all around from valet to doormen to room service to security. Loved it again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2cocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Every review is important to us, and thank you for staying with us!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We had to stay at a local spot for our 10 year wedding anniversary, when my husband suggested the Padre I was a little unsure, but in the end we had a great time. Initially we were staying in the head honcho suite, I believe that was the name. When we got there our room was not ready so they compensated us w/ some cocktails....after a half our we approached the front desk about our room and when it still wasn't ready, we told them it was our anniversary and they upgraded us to a larger suite (the farmers daughter). The patio was great food was awesome and we were treated very well, thanks to Marcos at the front desk, we enjoyed our anniversary.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicole549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for spending your special day with us. We hope to see you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Property: Padre Hotel
Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing