We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Padre Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
$89
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$103
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveler rating
614
207
47
18
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
614
207
47
18
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelhead honchorooftop barbelvedere restaurantvalet servicefox theatervalet parking isdowntown bakersfieldcool hotelcorner roommemory foamroom servicefantastic hotelroad tripnight's sleepdefinitely stay here againlong drive
Filter
Updating list...
599 - 604 of 906 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

A birthday celebration stay-cation at The Padre recently was a real treat for my friend and I. The staff was very nice and so accommodating. The room was impeccably decorated, clean and welcoming with the fine touches of a boutique hotel. While at the Brimstone- the casual bar/restaurant of the hotel, our waitress remained attentive and friendly throughout the busy night. After stopping by the Alley Cat bar, we ended our evening at Sandrini's for their live band show- and, all within walking distance of the hotel!

Room Tip: - Avoid being over the Prospect Lounge (nightclub) on Thursday - Saturday nights, unless you don't mind the music. - Double-Deuce is perfect for families
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Every day we implement wonderful guest amenities to make every stay a perfect one. Thank you!
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Every bigger town or smaller city in America needs one of these. An independent full service hotel with competent, friendly staff; fine, comfortable facilities and high quality food service (with choices of restaurants).. My wife and i stayed at the Padre this December--once on our way from Northern California to San Diego and once on our return trip. Both experiences were delightful. Our room (the Maverick grade) was quite spacious with a big bathroom having a big walk-in shower. The room had HD flat screen TV, audio connectors to a radio/player for smart phones, iPads, etc. The room and hallways were remarkably quiet at our visits. The lobby was welcomely decorated with Christmas Trees and Ornamentation. There's a non-seasonal mural behind the lobby desk which is pretty cool. The large bar/casual restaurant has a wide selection of craft drafts.

We walked around downtown Bakersfield a bit--it's very walkable. The fun attraction (especially for old people who actually shopped and ate at the originals which were all over the country) is the Woolworth's store and its operating food counter and restaurant. The store is a full working "antique" emporium but if we ever go back to the future it could become a five and dime overnight. The Kress building is right across the street and looks like it could be repurposed to its original purpose also overnight. I guess you can only lament the passing of that era.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Our consistent 5 star service is what we are known for. Thank you so much for staying with us.
Matthew
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Cant beat the atmosphere, food quality and excellent service. Outstanding in every aspect...cant beat it in a dead town like Bakersfield. On top it is the "hip" place in BFL. You get the haunting for free. Try the room service for breakfast - very reasonable and food quality beats any franchise hotel. The main restaurant is a little overdone..bar is great with very good and reasonable food. Room prices are reasonable as well with excellent value. There is a 2nd cool bar on the 2n floor with a "prairie fire" ( open large gas fire ). Check out the 'long Island Medium On the Road" show for insights on the ghosts.

Room Tip: Get a standard room with a glass window between shower and bedroom. Comes in 2 sizes. Don't get the ADA corner room - not as pretty.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

5 stars!.........thank you! We work every day to make every guest stay perfect and more! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Quite remarkable design, a welcoming service and love for the detail made our stay a very pleasant stop. Flash, modern rooms with cool design. Not too much to do around, but well worth the detour anyway. Internet o.K., very tasty restaurant with friendly crew. Worth a stop for 1-2 nights, busy&loud on weekends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Our design team created an amazing rebirth of our beloved Padre. We are #1 for providing an amazing and wonderful stay for every guest, come back soon!
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Padre several times now. We stayed during the week of the 20th of Dec. for 3 days & two nights... We were doing the family Christmas thing as well as attending a Brian Setzer concert at the Fox. (Note the Fox Theatre is a short block away & an easy walk unless you are highly...uh...drunk.)

Our room, a corner room had a nice view (7th floor) and the neon glow of the surrounding downtown was nice & not intrusive. The check in was smooth and we had been upgraded prior to arrival because of our past visits. The room was neat and clean and nothing unusual to report.

However a few things come to mind now that we have stayed there multiple times for more than an overnight trip. The bed is hard. It is memory foam with a pillow top covering...I hadn't paid much attention to it before but this time it was uncomfortable. Even my wife commented it felt "firmer" than in the past. Maybe a new bed perhaps?

A second note is there is but a single chest of drawer. Notice I said drawer as in one and only one. Nowhere to place your things if they don't hang in the closet. I think with a bit of rearrangement a resonable set of drawers could be placed into the room. As it were I just kept my things in the suitcase and the wife got the drawer. Not a huge deal but this is the 1st hotel I recall not having something beyond a single drawer.

And FYI you are staying just down the street from a Fire Station. Everybody knows Fire cannot roll anywhere unless its Code 3, lights & sirens...even when its 4 am and the streets are deserted. When they roll you will hear it. Nothing can be done but don't be startled when they crank it up at oh dark thirty...

The bar downstairs is nice but quickly fills up during the weekends. It is not a huge bar by any stretch so be prepared to stand or be quick when a table comes open. There is a second bar that opens during the weekends but it was not our style so we passed on it but it was jumping.

The small coffee bar is great for the morning cup & a muffin and they actually have Henry Weinhards creme soda which is a surprise (not that anyone cares ")

There is in house dining but we passed this time. We have had dinner there before but it was a bit designer for me in particular & the downtown area has multiple choices for food so we decided to venture beyond the hotel.

Now with all this being said it is a neat experience. It is a refurbished hotel, with lots of history which gives it a flair you will never find in a chain hotel. The staff works hard to take care of you and does an admirable job.

No doubt we will stay there again...no it's not the Hilton but that's half the charm.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 696K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmThePadre, General Manager at Padre Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We are the #1, most charming hotel in Bakersfield! Thank you for being a member of the Padre family, we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Matthew
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews