We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little sin at the Padre Hotel”
Review of Padre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padre Hotel
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This place is so beautiful. Right when you walk thru the doors, you forget you're in Bakersfield and immediately feel you're transported to Las Vegas. This hotel is that caliber. It was a surprise on the affordability, yet very trendy, clean and most of all great service. Once there, unless you have business to tend to, there is no need to leave. The lobby bar is way cool and the patio bar is great, especially for those late munchies. I will DEFINITELY stay there over and over again!

Room Tip: If you have an early morning, ask if you could get a room that is not directly over the outdoor bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolizl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (861)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 861 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed 4 nights at this lovely establishment. The rooms were very clean and ecletic. I loved the fact that I could even watch tv from the shower! Everyone from the valet attendants to the in-room dining service workers were outstanding. The only problem I had with it was the $10 charge/day for valet. The hotel is located downtown and there is no other free parking (except on the street after 6, I think). If you're a person who likes the club scene, this is the place to be. We came back on a Saturday night and that place was hoppin! I ordered room-service a couple of times. Each was time, really good. Salmon salad-excellent, sliders and garlic fries-very good. If you decide to stay here, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Last Dec, we drove down from the Bay Area to catch Merle Haggard at the Fox Theatre and booked a night at the Padre, really convenient for the Fox, just a couple of blocks away.

Arrived fairly early for check-in, but the desk staff were very accommodating and worked to get us a room right away. We had booked a Maverick Room online and wound up being upgraded to a Corner Pocket room on the 8th floor, nice! Room and bathroom were very modern and in immaculate condition, quite comfortable indeed. Got ourselves settled and went down to the Brimstone Bar in the lobby for cocktails and bar food. Folks at the bar were super friendly and really know their stuff regarding spirits and cocktails. Had a grand time drinking and chatting with staff and others at the bar. Bakersfield is a surprisingly friendly place.

Off to see Merle throw down some Bakersfield love for his adoring fans and returned to our room for one of the most comfortable night's sleep in recent memory, no joke. Apparently this was due to the stunningly comfortable Isoform memory foam bed--we were both impressed enough with this bed, our first experience with a memory foam mattress, that we are now looking into purchasing one for our home. I know, sounds like an ad, but it really was that comfortable.

Overall we found the service, style and comfort of the hotel to be stellar, and a very good value for $ spent, well done Padre!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CunningMcFar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Based on reviews here, we were looking forward to our one night stay at the Padre. We'd booked a room with two doubles for ourselves and one child. When we checked in, they told us we had a king bed and the child 'could sleep on the sofa'. We said no, and they argued with us, saying it was our fault for booking a king bed (which we hadn't) and that we had booked through a discounter (we hadn't, we booked with them direct). Finally they said they could put a rollaway bed into the room. At no point did they apologize for the mix up. It wasn't a pleasant encounter. And we ended up with a rollaway that took up all the floor space. That said, the room was pleasant - the bed was very comfortable with nice linens and pillows. The bathroom was very stylish but very dark. We switched on all the lights and it was impossible to see well enough to put any make up on! We ate in the Brimstone Bar and the staff there was very friendly and efficient. Not sure I'd go back to the hotel though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank italaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Very modern & hip remake of an oldie but goodie. This may well be the impetuous for a downtown revitalization. The folks that redeveloped this hotel know what they are doing. The rooms are large ( we had a Head Honcho Suite), great mattress and linens, Large flat screens, way cool bathroom with fab toiletries. We spent a fair amount of time in the room and it felt comfortable. The bar is very popular with the beautiful people of Bakersfield, the restaurant is very impressive in decor, interesting food and well trained easy going staff. On the weekend, there is a night club that changes the scene a bit, but we didn't have any sound problems in our room. The location is right downtown with reasonable proximity to The Fox Theater, the Rabobank Arena, The Amtrak station. Although the downtown center is a bit tired, the hotel is really what it's all about.

Room Tip: Head Honcho Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1moreMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Used trip advisor to find a hotel coming into Bakersfield, this was rated 1... It's pretty clear why!! Beautiful hotel, great staff, it looks brand new, and is so stylish!! I just ate the most fantastic room service, and now I'm using their complementary wifi to do this! If you are coming to Bakersfield... Stay here, you must!! Looking forward to trying out their breakfast... Apparently fantastic eggs!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetjetastrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel has reinvented itself. An old property but completely updated with high quality finishes and furniture. The rooms are not too big, not too small and comfortable. The bed was a lot like the "heavenly bed" you find at a Westin hotel. The TV was flat screen and large. The little cafe in the lobby had very good and very unusual selection for breakfast with a mexican flair. I was able to get my favorite yogurt with granola and berries so I was very happy. Our room had a nice view of the shops and restaurants on the street below. The bathroom was modern and luxurious with a large shower with glass on the two parallel sides....you could look across the bed and out the window of the room while in the shower....very cool. Gigantic shower head and lots of pressure and really hot water!!! Free WiFi was great. Room was quiet and we slept well.

Reading lights at the bed were a nice touch and other lighting was ample and stylish.

Room Tip: We had a king room. It was quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronniekayd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
4.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.6 mi away
Bakersfield Marriott at the Convention Center
5.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#9 of 63 in Bakersfield
600 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padre Hotel

Address: 1702 18th St, Bakersfield, CA 93301-4307
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range: $129 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Padre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Padre Hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Bakersfield. We are very close to Rabo Bank Arena, the Fox Theater and the arts district. The Padre was built in 1928 and remodeled completely in 2010. The rooms are amazing; you will want to take one our beds home with you. We cannot wait to see you at the Padre! The Padre team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Padre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing