We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of KC Steakhouse

KC Steakhouse
Ranked #65 of 820 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
La Mesa, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great local eatery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

On our annual trip to Northern California, we stop in Bakersfield and like to try different restaurants. We really enjoyed the food, atmosphere, and that the servers and guests all seemed to be an extended "family." We chose the K.C's Steak Platter for Two. It came with two salads and perfectly cooked beef and sides. A nice addition to our meal was the entertainer who sang songs from our favorite writers and provided music for several dancing couples. It was nice to hear guests greeted by name, a sign that this was not their first visit to the restaurant. This will NOT be our last visit here!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    21
    10
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old favorite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

KC Steakhouse is always one of my favorites for good food and a comfortable atmosphere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Donalda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse in Bakersfield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

KC's has been around forever. The decor is outdated and old fashioned but the food and service are very good and much better than the chain steakhouses. KC's should beef up their wine selection but the food and service are very good. I recommend the ribeye, can't go wrong, it is delicious! They have good desert also. A lot of their staff have been there for years and they care about the customer. I highly recommend KC's.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ogrkkco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“The best steaks in Bakersfield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

We love the food and service here. The crowds make it too difficult for us to navigate my wife's wheelchair, so we unfortunately have limited our visits. The crowds waiting for tables often stand between the tables where people are dining. I still highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank chuckg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place for a special meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

The steaks are tender and done just the way you order it. Service is good. Fun place to visit and people watch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lakemoosecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KC Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to KC Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing