We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Ramada??? Worst motel evr! DNT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
1 review
“Wow! Ramada??? Worst motel evr! DNT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

So how bout we got here yesterday and they had to make out bed at midnite cuz the room wasn't clean..63$ for a dirty room with clean sheets... then we figure we will get service n the morning so I pay another 63$ and didn't get a vacum or a trash bag or a new towel or a wiped down on any tables not to mition there was 5 day old otmeal in the microwave... some cleaning service hu... I can't believe we got clean sheets.. coffie pot but no coffie... half the lites wrk and I thought with a name like ramada it would b nice truth is vagabon is soooooo much better way cleaner and confertable.. DNT STAY HERE!!!!!!!payed for my room and said ill bring change to u lol still nothin... wow

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaybaybay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    19
    21
    28
    49
See reviews for
52
32
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
california
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We called hotel.com for another hotel, but it was filled, so they suggested the ramada right off hwy. 99. We were only staying one night to get some rest before continuing our trip the next morning. How bad could it be? It was disgusting! The place looked like a bank repo inside. Besides falling apart, and filthy, our room did not have a smoke alarm! The wires were there, but no alarm. I feel sorry for the people who run it, because they seemed nice. But they have no idea what the minimum standard for a motel/ hotel is. I have never experienced this filth before. I would not have stayed here for free, it was so bad. I will contact hotel.com.

Room Tip: Never take a suggestion from a online travel company if your first choice is not available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaHabanero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bakersfield hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This Ramada Limited was way more Limited than Ramada. This motel should not be in business if all the rooms are this bad. Wyndham should be ashamed that this hotel is in its inventory of properties. I did not have a chance to check Trip Advisor before reserving this room. My bad. When we got there, it was too late to cancel, and I knew the proprietor would never let us get by without paying if we left. We were traveling with our small dog and after we got our room number, I told the desk clerk (owner?) that we wanted to pay the pet fee separately from the room charge. He said, "oh you didn't tell me that before". He put back the key card that we had been given and gave us another key card. I KNEW then that we would have to stay in a dreaded DOG ROOM. Sure enough, we opened the door to carpet so badly stained that the true color was unknown. Our dog seemed uneasy in the room smelling former dogs. He only sat on his own bed which we had brought along.
The bathroom was even worse than the carpet! The filthy tub/shower was no longer white, it was black on the floor and gray scum all over the walls. So much dirt had built up in the corners of the room that it was climbing 8 inches high off the floor. We didn't dare take our shoes off.
I really wanted to leave, but it was late and the location was advantageous to the next days' work for my husband. The king sized bed had a full sized bedspread on it. Pictures and wallpaper were circa 1983. The one redeeming quality was that the bed was comfortable(once I inspected for bed bugs and took off the greasy looking worn out blanket.).
The "free breakfast" was no better than a bad Super 8's. Cereal, milk, bananas. There was a silver hot server as if there had at one time been some hot food served, but it was empty, as was the danish tray by 7:15am.
This place was such a waste of our money!
I can't say enough bad about this place. I wish I had taken pictures to show how truly BAD this Ramada Limited is!!! <shudder> ick ick ick

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldDutch57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Needs a full revamp in the rooms as rather dirty and the breakfast was awful. The swimming pool also looked filthy Would not stay here again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, OR
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We stayed here 1 night in early August 2010. When you first get here it looks OK, but... The room size and amenities were appropriate for the price. Free Wifi internet was promised, there was signal, but our computers could never make a connection. The bathtub had black mold around the "jets". One light switch on the wall was broken and didn't have a cover plate. We have a 3 y/o and 1 y/o and luckily it was too high for them to reach. Another light switch was bulging out of the wall and someone put tape around it and then painted the tape -- high class and top safety, right. :( The breakfast was aweful: the orange juice was rotten, the white bread was stale, and there were a few packages of tiny danishes. Little butter packages were left out and were warm, instead of in a cooled crock. It looked like they had a waffle bar or something because there was a griddle set up on the counter, but it was cold and dirty. Next to the griddle was a jar of syrup, only 1/2 on the bottom, and rock-hard. The heat was stifling in the breakfast room, no air, and only 9 am. The good part was its location near the 99 freeway.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbryner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2010

Double charged me for my room. I paid cash upon departure where I was handed a very dubious receipt that very conveniently does not indicate how I paid. Of course I don't notice this until I am having to dispute the charge with my credit card company. Staff won't give their names or return calls. They have been beyond frustrating and just plain rude.

Other than that - the place is not that clean, the breakfast is average but the area is quite dirty, but it has a good location. Overall, no bueno. I highly recommend that you not pay cash here, unless of course, you would like to pay twice.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgearhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaLtdCentral, Manager at America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2011
Our records do not show that cash was paid. Even the receipt that you were given at check-out (the one that you say doesn't show how payment was made) shows that you paid with a credit card. The owner was the one who checked you out. The records have been sent to the credit card company and they'll be dropping the case. AAA has also dropped the case. I don't think that you're trying to get a free room, but I know that we haven't charged you twice. The cash drop from the morning you checked out was balanced. I'm thinking that maybe you misremember what happened that morning, or have us mixed up with another property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union City, Ca
1 review
Reviewed December 21, 2009

I would not recommend anyone to stay at this place EVER! They are overpriced and filthy. When I asked for a refund I was told sorry about your luck. This place was unclean, unsafe and unreasonable. Looks like it was filled with crackheads staying in the rooms. The toilets were filthy, the electrical was a ran as if a fire was waiting to happen and the manager Vic is very unaccomedating! DO NOT STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keelykylene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
1.5 mi away
Ramada Limited Bakersfield North
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Bakersfield Fairgrounds
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Bakersfield
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
Red Roof Inn Bakersfield
#20 of 63 in Bakersfield
136 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
Holiday Inn Express Bakersfield
#12 of 63 in Bakersfield
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central

Property: America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central
Address: 830 Wible Rd, Bakersfield, CA 93304-4124 (Formerly Ramada Limited Bakersfield Central)
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your America's Best Value Inn & Suites Bakersfield Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bakersfield Ramada
Ramada Bakersfield
Ramada Hotel Bakersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing