We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Food, Value”

Hungry Hunter Steakhouse
Ranked #7 of 1,110 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving the best Prime Rib, Steaks and Seafood in town. Full Bar with a great wine list. Happy Hour Mon-Fri 2pm-6pm. Outdoor patio seating and Banquet room seating up to 80 people.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. Everything was exceptional. We got extra value with the early dinner menu / prices. The salmon and prime rib are excellent.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yellerdog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHungryHunter, Owner at Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank so much for coming by, and for sharing your story with everybody. Earning your recommendation really means a lot, and I hope we get to do it again sometime soon!

All the best,
Team Hungry Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The baby back ribs were tender and delicious. Arrived early ahead of dinner crowd. Service was very good at first but then tapered (understandably) as it got busier. Our bar drinks were replenished throughout, however nobody asked about our meal in spite of leaving a fair amount of food. Ambiance was pretty good considering that it appeared packed before we finished our meal. We were unimpressed with the quality our N.Z. rack of lamb which was very chewy. I have purchased rack of lamb more flavorful and tender from our local grocery store. Our spinach/artichoke appetizer was very soupy and also chewy as it was made from the tougher outside petals rather than the more tender and desireable heart. Our brownish brocolli were overcooked and therefore visually unappealing in our opinion. Our friend ordered the prime rib and stated he was also unimpressed with his meat. Given the price tag, we agreed that this meal was poor value and therefor a disappointment. Based on our experience, we would only return again for the baby back ribs with a side of potatoes and forego the rest.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHungryHunter, Owner at Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We do indeed care a great deal about every plate of food that we create for our customers, Steve, and I'm sorry to hear that this most recent visit left you wanting something more. From the cook of the lamb, to all of the sides -- presenting a five-star meal is a big passion of ours. I'll be sure to pass along your concerns, and here's hoping that we get the chance to welcome you back again soon for the full five-star experience.

Sincerely,
Team Hungry Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The best Norwegian Salmon !!! And the ribs were awesome,great table salad bar everything you want right at your table fast a courteous service!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cynthia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHungryHunter, Owner at Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I'm so glad that you loved your entire meal this much, Cynthia, and thanks for sharing your story. It means the world, and we can't wait to have you back again soon for round two!

All the best,
Team Hungry Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

four of us went because we'd gotten a coupon, and hadn't been there in a while. Turns out the restrictions on the coupon were so specific and complex that we couldn't/didn't use it. we just ordered sandwiches [rubens, chicken, and turkey ] from the lunch menu. Bread with honey butter arrived as a welcome appetizer. We all agreed that the food we got was exceptionally good, and the clam chowder is top-notch. the only issue was table real-estate. we got seated in a booth that i suppose is considered a four-top, but was very limited in table space. Thank goodness our server was good at clearing dishes, because once the entrees arrived someone commented that this was a lot like eating on a tray table in economy class flights. Next time (yes, there will be a next time - the food is really, really good) we'll know to ask for a table.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHungryHunter, Owner at Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2020

Nancy, we apologize for any confusion the coupons may have caused, but we so appreciate your visit.
We are glad to hear that you lunch was exceptional. We look forward to you next visit, and turning this 4 stars into 5!
Team Hungry Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020

I had high hopes that this would be good. It was not. I thought that by arriving at 5pm we would be able to get rare prime rib. Not a chance, they said it was rare, but it was not, medium at best, and not really very warm even. I think it had been cooked the day before and just warmed up. There was no juice coming out of it like you would have if they had just cut it. Salad was good, bread was good, although just a small portion for two and no one asked if we would like more. Expensive white wine, not properly chilled. Rice pilaf just barely warm. I was hoping desert would be better. Wrong again. How can you serve a lava cake when the cake is not warm. We were asked the obligatory "How was everything?", on our way out. I never bother to tell the 20 somethings as I know they don't give an at's rass and want to get back to their phones asap. Well, we don't live any where close, but even if we did, we would never go back. $115.00 wasted badly.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Denelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamHungryHunter, Owner at Hungry Hunter Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2020

First and foremost, Denelle, I want you to know that we encourage complaints if something isn't right. Sorry to hear that you didn't let us fix your dishes -- they never should have left the kitchen like that in the first place. Hope you'll accept our apology for missing the mark and let us show you that we don't make a habit of it.
All the best, Team Hungry Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hungry Hunter Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hungry Hunter Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing