We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Agreed with others”
Review of Famous Daves

Famous Daves
Ranked #149 of 821 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Agreed with others”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

I love the food here, burnt ends are my fav! I will agree with everyone else saying the service basically sucks. The people try, but it's like they are scared if a tip higher than $5.00.... I just don't get it. After three weeks in a row watching the games and tipping well, the server I think has figures this game out.... GREAT SERVICE = GREAT TIP !

Helpful?
Thank 1busyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    6
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really good BBQ, Just OK service”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I went to Famous Daves while in Bakersfield for work. I have been to other famous Daves before and have always enjoyed the food, I had the burnt ends and ribs and both were very tasty. They were tender, had a good smokey taste and the sauce was great. I really like the choice of sides, I got the grilled pineapple and it was awesome. Overall the food was as good as I was expecting it to be. The only downside was it took over 45 minutes to get my food, it wasn't too busy and it's BBQ so it's already cooked, i'm not sure why it took so long but it was worth the wait.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DWG99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good But Average Chain Q”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

It is not without note that there are 2 LOCAL BBQ restaurants rated above Famous Dave's. The local places do it much better, but then local fare often does do it better than a chain. That said, I enjoyed my meal but at least 2 others did not. I knew that the servings were much, much too large for me to deal with. I watch my weight and use portion control. I am the kind of person who will eat it, if its in front of me. To combat the huge portions, I ordered a burnt tips sandwich with fries and added the grilled pineapple side. I took the top off the sandwich and just ate the meat. Fries were horrible, the enjoyed the tips, and the grilled pineapple was wonderful. I would go back, but order the broccoli instead of the fries. I love that you can choose your side from a fairly long list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bin2oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth the trip from England!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We made a special stop in Bakersfield to eat here on our USA trip and we were not disappointed. The welcome from Keyla was so warm, friendly and professional (she is a real star!). We had the ribs and hey we're so good my son actually ordered another portion - I was stuffed after the first!

This is a great place serving really delicious food. We also appreciated the manageress coming over to talk to us to sort out a slight problem we had with the starter.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Muse1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FEAST,FEAST,FEAST!”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were a party of 5 1/2 and walked in and they quickly gave us a table. We ordered the feast. There is enough for party of 8, It was cheaper than ordering person by person. The food was awesome, the service was good and even the manager stop by to see if everything was fine. Poor guy must of been short handed because even he was running food out to customers. We love this place and we can't wait for them to open up the one in Hayward, CA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GNIFremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Daves also viewed

 
Bakersfield, CA
 

Been to Famous Daves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing