We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yuk!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Champs BBQ

Champs BBQ
Ranked #135 of 816 Restaurants in Bakersfield
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yuk!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Wow, have they gone down hill since change of owners! Ordered food to go. Onion rings were inedible-cold and greasy. Hamburger was plain with not garnish at all. Ribs were just okay, but they didn't come as a dinner so you had to order sides by themselves. They put the cold potato salad in with the ribs and put the hot green beans in a separate container instead of the hot green beans with the hot ribs so the potato salad was warm. Food was not ready even though I called 30 minutes prior to arrival to pick up. Young lady behind the counter was pleasant enough. No one was in the restaurant when I picked up my food at 5pm on a Friday night.-bleh

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sln321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    14
    10
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Another great treasure in Bakersfield. If you want good BBQ not some run of the mill franchise BBQ. This is your place. I meet the owner and he is a long time fan of BBQ and actually smokes the meats himself. They have an amazing dry rub, fried oacra, corn bread, green beans, I have had the tri tip, pulled pork and baby back ribs all were amazing.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Average BBQ at above average prices. There are much better BBQ places in town to choose.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Champs is a Champ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

Good food. Little pricey but good. We order take out, have only eaten in once. Fair amount of indoor room, but too crowded for us.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Not impressed..............”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

After hearing people rave about this place my wife and I decided to give it a try since we both love BBQ. I'm sorry folks, but we weren't impressed. In my humble opinion the food was average, service average and really nothing to rave about. I'll stick with Pappi's Down South BBQ in the south part of Bakersfield.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Champs BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Champs BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing