We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks like an amazing place!”

Crystal Palace and Museum
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combination theater and a museum housing memorabilia spanning Buck Owens' 40 year career in country music.
Rena, Norway
Level Contributor
121 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Looks like an amazing place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

Only the museum was open when we were here, but we did get to take the tour of the museum. There was a lot of private items from Buck Owens which was very interesting. His clothes, gitars and loads of pictures. There was even stuff from the show Hee Haw! I remember this show and how much fun it was to watch it on TV. I loved his cadillac mounted behind the bar area too. Great!! There were statues of some of Buck's music friends in the museum. Who ever did these did a wonderful job. They are a really good likeness of these performers. I want to come back and visit when the restuarant is open and there is live entertainment. I am sure it is amazing! This is a "must see" attraction in Bakerfield and especially if you are a country music fan.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravellers20105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    120
    40
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
154 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Country Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Country entertainment at it's finest. Always a great review and quite often big name appearances. It is "COUNTRY ON THE WEST COAST" and cannot be matched elsewhere. Food is excellent also and very decent prices.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank RichardAikenSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A piece of Bakersfield history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Geared towards the senior crowd, but you should do it at least once. Food is decent. It makes a fun burthday party spot. has live music and Karaoke, depends on the night you go. Still intersting to see.

Helpful?
Thank Larzio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

The food is always good. The service is inconsistent. We like the atmosphere and the music is always good. We haven't had a bad meal here no matter what we have ordered. If the service were better, I would have given it another star.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank barbie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Life music, dancing, drinks, and chicken fried steak as big as your face. What isn't to love!? This is the perfect place to come with couples or your girlfriends. I loved celebrating my birthday here with 5 other ladies. We line danced the night away and sang along with the band. A fantastic evening and an experience you won't soon forget!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Palace and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Palace and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing