We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find - scores well on all counts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent find - scores well on all counts”
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We are a family of 5 and were able to sleep in one room - 2 double beds and a rollaway. The room was spacious and comfortable, with microwave and fridge. Service was helpful, breakfast plentiful, internet access (free) fast. Located on edge of town but fine for us (on route to Yosemite). Found a good restaurant nearby (Hungry Horse). Highly recommended at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olliemolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    126
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
140
121
31
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We stopped there one night on our road trip around California. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We were very happy with the hotel and the room. It was as we expected, in fact, one of our favourites throughout the trip. The only downside was the lack of places to walk to for dinner. But, it IS out of town.
Great place, would stay there again, no hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FuzzyduckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central ca coast
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This hotel is located just off the 99, minutes from the airport and north of Bakersfield. It is next door to another new hotel chain. There is a Subway, Starbucks, Carls Jr., and other fast food/gas in walking distance. I didn't notice any resturants or shopping nearby.
Check in was fast and friendly. We had 2 rooms reserved earlier that day by phone. At check in, we asked to see the king suite. It was about $20 more than the 2 queen room. We ended up with the 2 queen room and king suite. The suite had a king bed and a double pull out couch. We also got a roll away bed for no extra charge. The king bed was very comfortable. We requested extra pillows that were also great. Sheets, duvet, towels, were all clean, soft, and new. The towels in the room were thin but adequate. Our 10 year old said that the pull out couch was comfy. Our 12 year old complained that the roll away was hard though. Water pressure, temperature, was fine. Lighting by sink/mirror good. Curtains kept out the light. All the furniture looked new. TV was small for the room but worked fine. There was also a microwave (with popcorn), refrigerator, coffee maker, and bar sink in the room.
The outdoor pool might have been heated, but was a little chilly. My only major complaint was the size and quality of the pool towels. They were the size of a hand towel. You had to get these at the front desk.
Breakfast was included in the price of the room. There was fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, toast, bagels, cereal, hot breakfast meats (?), a busy waffle maker, coffee, and teas. All were self serve. The hostess did a good job of keeping things clean but ran out of plates and had a hard time keeping up with the food during a busy time.
Parking was outside of your room,well lit and safe. Room keys opened all outside doors and the pool.
There was also a self serve laundry, gym, small area to buy packaged snacks/sodas, etc.
Check out was fast and accurate.
If I had to stay the nite in Bakersfield or needed a stop mid way between L.A. and SFO. I would stay here again. The hotel website pictures were exactly what we saw when we stayed. This is not a high end resort by any means but a perfect place to spend the nite when traveling. A great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seablu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Endorse all already written about hotel. Obviously aimed at the corporate market and, therefore, maybe a little expensive, but don't expect Bakersfield is high on anyone's holiday destination list.

Excellent overnight stopover. Internet worked fine for us.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bractullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Great hotel a bit out of town. Must be very new. Internet service in the evening was miserable (obviously overloaded). Returned to normal in the morning. Its near the airport but it was quiet at night

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doslobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

I actually did not stay at this hotel I called them to inquire about parking a car at there facility for a couple of nights. They were so helpful did not charge me for this service or make me pay for a hotel night, also requested that I park near the front door so they could keep an eye on my vehicle. As I told Hampton Inn I have previously stayed at La Quinta (next door) and called them with the same request and they said "NO" I think its great that a hotel can help a customer out and I am a new customer of Hampton Inn now.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raynde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Clean, recently built hotel with nice rooms. Small, but good gym. Quiet, especially for being somewhat close to freeway. Ask for room in middle of hotel facing the hotel opposite for quietest experience. Since most Bakersfield hotels sit right next to the freeway, it is nice to have one some distance away.

Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank kev1438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
Hilton Garden Inn Bakersfield
#8 of 63 in Bakersfield
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Address: 8818 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308-9441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small town charm and warm hospitality starts when you arrive at the Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport! Our homey guest room and spacious suites featuring our one-of-a-kind plush, comfortable beds and 32" HDTVs. As one of the newer hotels in the area, our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel offers comfort and convenience ideal for your travel needs. Don't forget our Suite Shop, outdoor pool. Fitness center and business center are available at any time during your stay. Our prime Kern County location puts you within easy access to Highway 99 and 65, minutes away from Bakersfield Airport and approximately six miles from the charm of Downtown Bakersfield. Your just a short ways from enjoying the luxuries of our city. Planning a meeting? Keep our 783 sq. Ft. Meeting room in mind for your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Hampton Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing