We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you'd expect from a Hampton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Bakersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
354 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect from a Hampton”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This property is situated near the airport and next to Highway 99. Aside from some fast food nearby, you definitely need a car. It’s a typical Hampton although not all of the rooms of this generation of Hampton Hotels have a bathtub (about 50% of each room type, we were told) only a shower (although very spacious) so if you want a tub, put that in your room request.
Wi-fi worked well. Be very careful about where you park your car because they run their sprinklers in the afternoon and spray all over your car with hard water. The breakfast experience was by far the most disappointing of any Hampton we have visited. The one girl working in the breakfast area could never keep anything filled and at times there was a ten-minute wait for their omelets. The breakfast breads were never refilled. Adding insult to injury, the girl, purse in hand, left the hotel at 9:23 even though breakfast went until 10 AM. Trash was left by guests outside the rear entrance in the ashtray and it steadily grew overnight so was quite disgusting by the morning. There were no shady parking spaces to keep your car cool from the blistering heat; the building is situated such that there is not even a shadow from the building to park in. We’d think twice before staying here again. The management has some real training to do with their staff so the hotel runs 24/7 like a Hampton should.

Room Tip: north side so you're away from direct sunlight and heat
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2CAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    125
    26
    12
    4
See reviews for
136
119
31
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, California
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2012

everything here was good. rooms were clean. staff was pretty helpful. only thing bad was the pool. lotsa chlorine. i mean alot. we couldnt open our eyes and when we did after we got out the pool our eyes were hurting for about 2 hours

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmo122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We needed a place close to the Famoso Raceway and found this place from the great reveiews it received. I have to agree with everyone, the town is small and not the best of neighborhoods, but the hotel was awesome. The room was pretty big with a huge, comfortable bed and a pull out bed. The room had a small fridge, sink and microwave, which is so rare in hotels now days! Room was clean and comfortable. I guess they were in the middle of switching cable complanies so a lot of the channels didn't work, but I was ok with that because I do not watch a lot of tv. The pool was on the small side, but clean. I loved the free, hot breakfast in the morning, great selection. Check out was quick and easy! If I ever go back to the race track out there, we will be back! Great value!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdhed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

...lies in the middle of nowhere...ok, the neighbourhood isnt the best, i tried to find a supermarket in the evening, the only one has been a 99cent Store...not my best idea. Maybe there are others, GPS didnt find them. So, thats the con. The Hotel itself is awesome. The first Hotel i have been to where the bedspread is white and fresh bleached for every guest...the bed itself couldnt be better (after a 500 mile trip and with a bad back...) - as in all Hampton Inns i guess. WiFi good, all Electric Stuff rather new and working, Desk Lamp with 2 plug ins for charging units...happy of not having to search them behind the tv or under the bed like elsewhere (its the small things making you happy). The bathroom: Looked fresh renovated, extremly clean, some 15 towels (couldnt decide after taking a shower). A/C ok, not too noisy...and windows to open, even on the 5th floor. Summary: Not really a thing to get better, even after thinking over. Thank you for that stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonRioja_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Very nice beds. However stay away from the GM, Jennifer Marshall. When we asked the GM for a discount Jennifer rudely replied you are getting the best rate and can stay somewhere else if you dont like it. She was very short and very rude, she could care less if I took my business somewhere else and was not at all interested in being curious, friendly, or helpful. Asked to speak to Jennifer's boss, as this did not feel like an appropriate response from a manager. Jennifer refused to give me any contact information for anyone above her. Was told to call 800Hampton, where I received the run around (as Im sure she knew would happen). The # to call to file a complaint against Jennifer is 703-883-1000

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are quieter. If there is a floor above you, you can hear people walking/stomping ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LetsrideT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stopped here while on a road trip. Great location for drivers - on the edge of town, right off the highway. Starbucks, gas station, McDonald's, Subway, etc, all nearby. Room was very clean and modern. Safe for the single traveler. Great internet speeds.

Only bad point was that there was no one at reception when I had to check out the next morning. A pile of key cards indicated to me that there was probably no on there all morning. I was surprised at this, but I left a note and my key card, and was charged the correct amount, so I guess it worked out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starryLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

This is my second time staying at a Hampton Inn. This particular hotel was wonderful. The front desk clerk was extremely pleasant and helpful. I notice that one reviewer mentioned that pets are allowed here. They are not. Except for service dogs. And it is a non-smoking facility as well. This is one reason I like the hotel and one reason it is great for people with allergies/sensitivities. The beds were like sinking into a cloud. I can't tell you how comfortable they were after a nine hour drive. Very clean and quiet. Complimentary breakfast. I'm very impressed with the Hampton Inn and will make it my go-to hotel on future trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bakersfield hotels
6.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Bakersfield
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bakersfield North
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Bakersfield - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bakersfield Central
10.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield/Hwy 58
5.4 mi away
Padre Hotel
Padre Hotel
#1 of 63 in Bakersfield
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Address: 8818 Spectrum Park Way, Bakersfield, CA 93308-9441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bakersfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Family Hotel in Bakersfield
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bakersfield
#5 Business Hotel in Bakersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small town charm and warm hospitality starts when you arrive at the Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport! Our homey guest room and spacious suites featuring our one-of-a-kind plush, comfortable beds and 32" HDTVs. As one of the newer hotels in the area, our Hampton Inn & Suites hotel offers comfort and convenience ideal for your travel needs. Don't forget our Suite Shop, outdoor pool. Fitness center and business center are available at any time during your stay. Our prime Kern County location puts you within easy access to Highway 99 and 65, minutes away from Bakersfield Airport and approximately six miles from the charm of Downtown Bakersfield. Your just a short ways from enjoying the luxuries of our city. Planning a meeting? Keep our 783 sq. Ft. Meeting room in mind for your next function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Bakersfield North-Airport Hotel Bakersfield
Hampton Inn And Suites Bakersfield North-Airport
Hampton Inn Bakersfield
Bakersfield Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing