We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Show”

World's Tallest Thermometer
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Sad to say, like the rest of Baker it's seen better days. I believe the town can't afford to light it up?
That said it does look impressive and is worth a "Happy Snap"

Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 214 of 271 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

I understand about 19 million people drive between Los Angeles and Las Vegas each year. Most would pass through Baker, and as they do, they would see this unusual sight- a tall thermometer rising out of the ground, in a desert town.

Sadly, it is no longer operational.

Nonetheless, may I suggest you stop, have a look and take a picture- it may not be there next time you pass by!

Thank adelaidiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

closed down about a year ago. so do not plan on coming had to add extra caricatures to post but it is closed Heard it is for sale on EBAY. Also no big deal as it is digital not like the old one that fell over about 15 years ago that was real with Mercury

Thank BCRON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

OK, so we stopped in Baker on 09/14/2013 because we were hungry and it was the first city once you get into CA from Nevada. We kept looking at this thing (structure?), not knowing what it was - didn't have a temperature on it so we guessed it was a thermometer that was broken. SCORE! We were right! Was there a sign that says it's the world's tallest? All I saw was the sign on it about being the gateway to Death Valley. Wish I would have known, would have stopped and taken the obligatory picture :)

Thank NotFromHere13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This point of interest was never a major deal except that it gave you an idea of how hot it was going to be if you stopped in Baker and got out of your car. However, this point of interest is no longer in working order and is closed. The Bob's Big Boy next door has also closed.

Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World's Tallest Thermometer also viewed

 

Been to World's Tallest Thermometer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing