We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers”
Review of Big Boy - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Boy
Cuisines: American
Description: Phone # for restaurant: (760) 733-4660
Restaurant details
Description: Phone # for restaurant: (760) 733-4660
Box Elder, South Dakota
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Three of us stopped for a quick lunch and we all decided to have burgers, fries, or salad. The burgers were tasty and done to our specifications. One of us had "The Kitchen Sink", and I couldn't believe he ate the whole thing. He Loved it!!!! The service was quick and the server was courteous. The only disappointment was that they were out of onion rings. I hate getting excited about a menu offering only to discover that it is not available. Bummer!!!
So if you are traveling I=15 between LA & Las Vegas give Big Boy's burgers a try.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadCal46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    4
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grottoes, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Service- OK food”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Fast food at sit down prices. The service was great. I choose the double burger and should have tried something else. The food was good; but a little pricey for my liking

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bobcat465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakhurst
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stopped on our way back from Las Vegas for breakfast and chose what looked like Bob's Big Boy. Apparently it's not part of Bob's Big Boy chain. What upset me the most was it wasn't very clean. The bathrooms and carpet were dirty. The table had been wiped with a rag that obviously wasn't clean. My husband had the buffet and said it was okay. My meal wasn't great but I would give it a "C-".. We won't be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynolsen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unspeakably bad. Avoid.”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stopped for a quick bite to eat. We ordered two pasta dishes. The sauce on one was ok, the pasta in both was cooked to mush. The service was slow, the atmosphere awful. We stopped at several great local diners on our roadtrip, this was definitely not one of them.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacGlockenditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
Reviewed September 21, 2011

On our way to California from Vegas, we decided to stop for lunch and to see the tallest thermometer. \
First disappointment, the thermometer wasn't working
Second, restaurant service. We had to ask mulitple times for , our milkshake, straw and side of coleslaw.
Third, the food was cold and the for-mentioned coleslaw had absolutely no flavor.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lkmccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Boy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing