We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fraddon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked here for one night and was pleased that it was no longer.
The only thing in its favour was the very pleasant young lady on reception who was very helpful.
The room we were first given was awful with an opening slit for a window up near the ceiling, a roof light and very little space. On commenting on the lack of a proper window we were told it was because we had booked a double room which was a ridiculous excuse. We were moved to a family room which was a big improvement but it still looked rather tired with chips to the enamel in the bath and stains on the carpet. We were advised to book for dinner at the adjoining restaurant as it would be busy. This turned out to be an under statement but I don't no how anyone would want to visit again as the service and quality of food was rather poor. This is the first Premier Inn that we have visited and now know why we usually use Holiday Inn Express when possible.

Room Tip: Don't book room no. 34
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 537 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Made a last minute booking for the hotel as our car suffered a breakdown late evening. Used the PI website to book in which was quick and the receptionist had our details quickly in check in. The hotel is pleasant and having the restaurant next door is handy. The rooms were modern although for the price paid I would have expected the modern upgrades such as flat screen tv rather than a small CRT TV which I don't think you can even buy anymore! Also even though it's Oct - it's quite warm and the room was very hot at night, almost unbearably so. No air conditioning which again I would expect for the price paid based on other Premier Inns. However overall a good stay, food and beers at the restaurant were good value and well served. Good hotel just needs to be upgraded to the typical premier inn standard before charging typical premier inn prices.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dannymck18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The room was fine, clean though a little tired - particularly the bathroom. But the temperature in the room was almost unbearable to sleep in. A fan was provided but did little to lower the temperature - how could it be 25.5 degrees inside when it was only about 18 degrees outside? We had to have the windows open all the time which of course made the room noisier than it should have been. It really is time this hotel was updated and air conditioning installed.

Apart from that our 2 night stay was fine. The beds were comfortable and for the staff nothing was too much trouble. They really are the saving grace of this hotel which is a bit noisy being so close to the A30 but extremely convenient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllenB545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at the Premier for 4 nights whilst touring Cornwall. This was our 2nd visit and it was just as good as the 1st time. The room was large and very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The bathroom, again very clean, good shower and clean towels every day. All the staff were very helpful.
The hotel is off the A30, very convenient. There is a Brewers Fayre next door which is Ok, and a shopping arcade across the street with a wonderful food hall, well worth a visit.
The only complaint that I have is the pigeons. We were in room 49 which looked out on to brick walls with ledges which were the home of a lot of pigeons. I counted 20 and they were the ones that I could see. They would land back on the ledges late afternoon and coo and carry on until dawn when they flew away for the day. It really was awful, the noise during the night and the mess, yuk! We mentioned the problem when we checked out and suggested that they put spikes on the ledges but I think that the receptionist thought that we were being a bit fussy.
I would however recommend the Premier Inn at Fraddon but avoid room 49, and probably 51 if you hate pigeons as much as I do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KD's Mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you've travelled the best part of 300 miles and it's 3am then you want an pleasant welcome and a room that just works and that's what I got from the Premier Inn at Fraddon.

Seriously comfortable bed and a good shower, clean and tidy throughout. The only reason I haven't given 5/5 is because the price was a little more than I'd have liked and the floor was a bit creaky in the room - which wasn't a problem for me but I did wonder if it may have disturbed the neighbours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastTryOrImOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This Premier Inn is on the A30 so can be noisy but if you ask for a quiet room when booking it is fine. We had a large family room with a sofa which was great for the 2 of us. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The bed however was very hard and as I suffer from arthritis found it very difficult to sleep on the first night. I asked at reception for a extra quilt to go under the bottom sheet, this was provided with no trouble at all. The housekeeping staff were lovely and friendly and provided us with a good amount of towels. The tv's could do with replacing as they were small and bulky but other than that everything was great. A really good place to stay to travel around Cornwall as its pretty Central.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as it is on the main A30 and can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetCavershamReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sept 11th. 3rd day of my tour. Stayed at this Premier Inn as it was ideal going up the A30. I stayed here because it was ideal for our visit to Lands End. The usual very high standard from Premier Inns and this been no exception. Petrol and store very close by. If travelling south to north the hotel is on the right hand side of the duel carriageway and can be seen easy but don't miss the left turn to get to it like me. Well recommended. Brian

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian61uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fraddon
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Bodmin Roche Hotel
6.3 mi away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
6.3 mi away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
7.3 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,422 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel

Address: Penhale | Fraddon, Fraddon TR9 6NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fraddon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fraddon
Price Range: $58 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful retreat on the outskirts of Newquay, with some of the UK's best surfing beaches at hand ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newquay (A30/Fraddon) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newquay (a30/ Fraddon) Hotel Fraddon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing