We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit IF passing by...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsley Village

Kingsley Village
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Fraddon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open from 8:oo am till 6.oo pm
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
606 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Worth a visit IF passing by...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

First time back since this establishment opened and not much change. Professor Don Getz seems to have been the first person to refer to TSVs - tourist shopping villages - in print and it's important to note that this is nothing like Gretna...or Bicester shopping villages. At my last visit, I thought how good the large display of locally grown asparagus looked. Well, the food hall still has local produce so IF passing it is worth a look. As for the rest of the village, I am neither impressed or otherwise.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    23
    35
    22
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“local produce my bottom....awful toilets”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We're from Cornwall and fancied getting some Cornish treats for a gift for someone. However once we arrived we soon realised all the gifts are made in China and only the meat, certain alcohol and SOME savouries were actually Cornish. Pretty pathetic if you consider how many local food and gift producers we have in Cornwall....not to mention all the saffron loaves and buns were burnt. There is no point to Kingsley Village. The toilets were disgusting too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NBtruro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We always visit when we come down.lots of interesting things to buy.Lovely Cafe,although the constant tannoy telling you about it annoys after a while.our girls always come up to buy sweets from the sweet area,this has been downsized and now there are not so many child friendly sweets,but plenty of rock,biscuits and fudge etc.We love the food hall,the hot food counter is fab,the lasagne is amazing. My only gripe is local products like Honey,wine,beer is really expensive,nearly £7 for a small pot of honey!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kezi75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Country Gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

A fantastic lovely little shopping village nestled away in Cornish countryside. The food hall offers great quality food all locally sourced and really good prices, if I lived locally I would buy from here every week! The shopping center had some really lovely items as well as some well priced essentials. If you're passing by then drop in because it's a great place to stop off on a long journey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JazDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northants
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxed shopping”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Kingsley is a nice little shopping experience they don't have big shops just a small selection of things they have the main shop selling all the outdoor brands and surf brands and if you pop up stairs they have a clearance section where you can pick up a bargain .they have a wide selection of jewellery and watches handbags and gifts they also have a large sweet section selling anything from local stuff to American candy.then there is the food hall full of local produce ident leave without something scrummy the cakes and the bread are really worth the extra .

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jozijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kingsley Village also viewed

 

Been to Kingsley Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing